Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Rysnc backups

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by fdnven, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. fdnven

    fdnven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi,

    Setting up rsync backups from to Cpanel servers. I followed the advice in this thread:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f49/backup-multiple-destinations-169322.html#post709690
    Just as a side note. I am forced to place a password before the key can be made.


    Using the method to check the key I just recive this:
    Enter passphrase for key '/root/.ssh/id_dsa':

    Chances are I may have missed something.

    Thanks
    Frank
     
    #1 fdnven, Sep 18, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Frank,

    When you generated the key, did you enter a passphrase? If you did, then generate a new key without any passphrase.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. fdnven

    fdnven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi,

    I am unable to create a key leaving those boxes empty. When I try to create the key a window pops up "
    Validation Errors" Stating the password must be 5 chars long.

    Frank
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Frank,

    Are you generating the key in WHM or something?

    It would be better to generate a key in command line:

    Code:
    ssh-keygen -t dsa
    That should be run in /root/.ssh/ location.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice