The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

s3cmd Tools Installation help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Skin, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello, I'm trying to install s3tools on my vps ( WHM 11.38.1 build 15 / CENTOS 6.4 x86_64 )

    In the main page of Amazon S3 tools: Package repositories there are some simple instructions, so after some reading I started in this way:

    Code:
    cd /etc/yum.repos.d
    wget http://s3tools.org/repo/RHEL_6/s3tools.repo
    yum install s3cmd
    
    But I have this error:
    Can someone please help?
     
    #1 Skin, Aug 8, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2013
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I do not recommend changing the version of Python on your system. You may want to consider installing the package from source. EX:

    Code:
    cd /root
    wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/s3tools/files/s3cmd/1.5.0-alpha3/s3cmd-1.5.0-alpha3.tar.gz/download
    tar -zxvf s3cmd-1.5.0-alpha3.tar.gz
    cd s3cmd-1.5.0-alpha3
    python ./setup.py install
    python
     >>> import S3
    Note that the download location and directory path depend on the version you decide to install.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello, thanks for your reply.
    Today I've tried again with yum install s3cmd and everything worked:); I didn't do nothing on the vps ( except for a scripts/upcp ), so may be that Cpanel or amazon have just solved this problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page