Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

safe mode error - subdomain ??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Markwaugh, Dec 29, 2003.

  1. Markwaugh

    Markwaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi,

    I have 2 "4images" picture galleries and the one at www.1.co.au/gallery works fine, but the one at www.1.co.au/family I can't upload any pictures and get this error

    Warning: move_uploaded_file(): SAFE MODE Restriction in effect. The script whose uid is 32070 is not allowed to access /home/bill/public_html/family/data/media/4 owned by uid 99 in /home/bill/public_html/family/includes/upload.php on line 114

    I just used the fantastico auto install to install it. so i have disabled php safe mode for the domain via httpd.conf.

    I decided to uninstall and re-install and now it works. I am wondering if the turning off safe mode didn't take effect till I un-installed it and also if I go into the gallery as http://family.1.co.au I can't upload anything (including in the admin), but if I go into the gallery under http://www.1.co.au/family I can upload pictures (and edit them in the admin)

    any ideas as to why the safe mode is affecting the subdomain family.1.co.au? any ideas / suggestions/ sloutions would be highly appreicated. Thanks in advance.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 Markwaugh, Dec 29, 2003
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2003
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You have to restart Apache after turning safe_mode OFF. Doesn't matter if script was installed before or after the restart.

    Been having a chat with my Clients about the 4Images script actually. Regardless of what installer script is used, 4Images seems to have lots of coding errors and a somewhat of a problem script. Coppermine has come up as an excellent alternative script -- safe_mode can be ON or OFF, doesn't matter, and no script errors!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice