The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Safe to delete old Perl Libraries?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kdarray, Mar 3, 2007.

  1. kdarray

    kdarray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Washington
    I have some old Perl libraries, prior to to 5.8.7, that are in my usr/lib/perl5 directory? Is it ok to delete them ie. Perl 5.8.3 and back?
     
    #1 kdarray, Mar 3, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2007
  2. xerophyte

    xerophyte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    I would leave it, because some script might depends on them. Its hard to say which one , touching perl libraries not recommended :) past experiences

    hope that helps
     
  3. kdarray

    kdarray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Washington
    thanks xerophyte

    Well thanks xerophyte. I'm very glad I posted here first. I don't need the disk space or anything. I was just trying to clean up the directories and am glad I left them intact. Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I've actually always removed the old ones, but you do have to be prepared for some tidying up for the reason xerophyte points out.

    If you do decide to remove them (you can always reinstall perl using the perlinstaller package on layer2.cpanel.net) make sure you run the following after wards repeatedly until it doesn't update any more:

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules

    On very rare occasions I've seen the tidyup affect exim in which case you can remedy that with:

    /scripts/eximup --force
     
Loading...

Share This Page