The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Same nameservers for shared hosting using cpanel

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ASTRAPI, May 23, 2009.

  1. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello

    I have a cpanel server and i add there a account and nameservers acording to my domain and all working great.

    1)Now if i want to add more accounts can i use the same nameservers?

    2)Is it good and posible to use every account a diferent nameserver?

    3)If i use the same nameservers as in my first account with the valid domain and the domain is not in use in the future all sites will go down?

    Thanks
     
  2. chinmay

    chinmay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi there,

    1. Yes, you can use the same Name servers for more accounts added. You will need to ask the domain registrar to update the Name servers as added on your server (default).

    2. Yes, you can use different Name servers for the other accounts. But make sure the Name servers points to server IP OR A and MX records points to server IP.

    3. Unless and until the Name servers resolve to the server Ip's, the domains hosted on the server will not be down. If the domain is not under your control and the Name servers points to different IP's the sites will be down.
     
  3. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    About my second question:

    if i have in my main server namesersers:

    ns1.mydomain.com <- 123.456.789.0
    ns2.mydomain.com <- 987.654.321.0


    Another account with anther domain can use this:

    ns1.mynewdomain.com <- 123.456.789.0
    ns2.mynewdomain.com <- 987.654.321.0

    And it will work?

    Thanks
     
  4. chinmay

    chinmay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, it will work... But make sure mydomain.dom uses Name servers ns1.mydomain.com & ns2.mydomain.com and mynewdomain.com uses Name servers ns1.mynewdomain.com & ns2.mynewdomain.com
     
  5. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok thanks :)
     
  6. chinmay

    chinmay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    localhost
    You are Welcome :) Good Luck !
     
Loading...

Share This Page