The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Screwed up fstab and I need help...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by partsace, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. partsace

    partsace Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I did not make a backup of my fstab file and now I'm screwed. I deleted 2 lines and panicked and I don't know what they were. Here is what I have now:

    # This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 1
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/tmp /tmp ext3 defaults 1 2


    Any help whoud be GREAT!!!!

    Scott
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Scott,

    Can you provide a return for the following command?

    Code:
    mount
    It might be swap you removed and possibly another partition, but that's impossible to know really. For my own curiosity, why did you elect to remove lines and then save the file? I just wondered why it was being edited in the first place basically.

    Thanks!
     
  3. partsace

    partsace Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here ya go:

    /dev/sdb2 on / type ext3 (rw,usrquota)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    /dev/sdb1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    /dev/sdb3 on /tmp type ext3 (rw,noexec,nosuid)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    /tmp on /var/tmp type none (rw,bind,usrquota,usrquota)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)


    Scott
     
  4. partsace

    partsace Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I was trying to Secure /tmp and /dev/shm via 'vi /etc/fstab' and I did not know what I was doing and I panicked. I hit "x' to quit and again, I did not know what I was doing and hoping to get out of vi, and it saved my screw-up. My intention was just to look at fstab and not to edit it.

    Scott
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Scott,

    You haven't rebooted the machine since changing the /etc/fstab file, right? Just checking that's the case.

    Also, have you tried asking your webhost what they normally use? I'm still not sure what might be removed beyond SWAP possibly (since I don't see anything in your existing /etc/fstab about SWAP). It's nearly impossible to know what it should have. Your hosting provider, NOC or datacenter should know what their images use for the /etc/fstab file.

    Also for future reference, you can secure /tmp using the cPanel script:

    /scripts/securetmp
     
  6. partsace

    partsace Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    And yes, I have rebooted a few times since then. When I screw up, I put 100% into it!

    Scott
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Once it's rebooted, even mount will change for the revised fstab, so that's too bad :(
     
  8. partsace

    partsace Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    All of the websites work just fine, I keep getting a 550 error when sending email to the server and sending email out of the server. When I send an email to someone within the server, it sends & receives just fine...

    Scott
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That doesn't seem likely to be related to fstab really. It shouldn't impact sending and receiving emails provided the disk space is sufficient in the existing partitions. You could always open up a ticket with us to check the email issues (WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel), but I still think getting ahold of your host here is the necessary step for what they use by default for fstab. It would take them only a few moments to check their default settings for new servers they setup.
     
  10. partsace

    partsace Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I started a ticket 7 hours ago. I am just getting a little antsy. I have also request from the datacenter for a copy of fstab. We will see how that goes.

    Scott
     
Loading...

Share This Page