The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/scripts/convertemails [merged]

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Aldweb, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. Aldweb

    Aldweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /scripts/convertemails

    I updated the cpanel for release, after that a process that is consuming the load appeared... /usr/bin/perl /scripts/convertemails, user cpanel...some knows as doing for that script not to be active and so that it serves
     
    #1 Aldweb, Apr 28, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2005
  2. DIYHosting

    DIYHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    I tried upgrading 3 different servers to the release build and they all got stuck at 70% for hours at the newemails process and were building for a couple hours until I just closed the browser.

    the convertemails process is running and using major load (like jumped up to 5) but I haven't noticed much slowdown at least.

    I think something is wrong with the upgrade process for this release build.
     
  3. cretu

    cretu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I am stuck at the same point. Is it safe to stop the process?

    Cretu
     
  4. phinsup

    phinsup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    convertemails hanging up latest update

    Been sitting there with process convertemails running for an hour or so, what is it? And what should I do about it?
     
  5. Aldweb

    Aldweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I stopped the process of the user cpanel with the command:
    kill -9 `Ps -aux | grep ^cpanel | tr -s "" | cut -d " " -f2 `
    and the load lowered
     
  6. cbwass

    cbwass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Had four servers all the same, rebooted and they seem OK now. Must be a problem with the daily update.
     
  7. protocol

    protocol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same problem 2 RELEASE servers. Is it safe to kill these? meanwhile I have reniced them to 19.
     
  8. hbouma

    hbouma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I ran into this problem today as well. Basically, his script is written to go through all the accounts on the server and do something to each one. The problem is that it uses the /etc/passwrd file for the account list and the code causes the cpanel 'user' to make a false match (i.e. cPanel thinks it should do 'covertemails' on /usr/local/cpanel account as well). Because its not really a cPanel account, the script locks up at that point.

    I was able to circumvent the problem by making the following check in the code pass:

    if (-e "$homedir/etc/.imapv4cp5c" && ! $forcecheck) { next; }

    So if you create the file /usr/local/cpanel/etc/.imapv4cp5c, convertemails will skp over the cpanel account thinking its already been converted and it should process the rest of the users and complete.

    Or at least that is what it did for me.

    I hope this helps!

    Hal
     
  9. protocol

    protocol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, are you saying just create /usr/local/cpanel/etc/.imapv4cp5c ? Did you need to kill and re-run covertemails? As it still seems to be stuck.

    Thanks again
     
  10. hbouma

    hbouma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Yeah, you still need to kill the script if its running, but creating that file will let it complete each time its ran after that. You can test if the fix works by running /scripts/convertemails manually as well.

    Hal
     
  11. protocol

    protocol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, yeah I did that in the end. All now seems well. Thanks for your help.
     
  12. cbwass

    cbwass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What is the command I need to 'create the file /usr/local/cpanel/etc/.imapv4cp5c'
     
  13. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    touch /usr/local/cpanel/etc/.imapv4cp5c
     
  14. cbwass

    cbwass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Chirpy, upcp is running OK now. Is this an error from the last Cpanel update? It was causing me problems when trying to add domain pointeres etc.
     
    #14 cbwass, Apr 29, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2005
  15. Wallaby

    Wallaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Killing the existing processes ("kill -9 nnnnn" where nnnnn is the PID, get it from running "top") and then the touch command above did the job for us.

    Thanks chirpy and others!
     
  16. PbG

    PbG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks to all who contributed.
     
  17. knipper

    knipper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    me too

    It looked liked this process hung up the overnight build. About two mins after killing the process, and creating the file my cPanel Layer 2 install completed message popped up via shell.
     
  18. Pinoywh

    Pinoywh Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm installing cpanel in a fresh Centos and it hungs up for hours and then I check on top, and this script is running eating up 99.9 of cpu. I kill and rebooted the server and tried installing again but now it hungs up on Apache build...

    What do you think we can do?
     
  19. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Did you create the file as directed in the preceding threads?
     
  20. jrehmer

    jrehmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Why should we have to create this file so that it skips this script? Shouldn't Cpanel have already tested this out, OBVIOUSLY it is a big problem for a lot of people.

    I don't know why we always settle for these stupid fixes when Cpanel should have never released this in the first place - especially on the RELEASE build.
     
Loading...

Share This Page