The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/scripts/cpbackup error

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by badapple2, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. badapple2

    badapple2 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Over the last 2 days my server has sudenly begun sending me the following notices via email:

    rdate: couldn't connect to host rdate.cpanel.net: Connection refused
    Backup Not Enabled

    Running: WHM 9.9.9 Cpanel 9.9.9-S15 RedHat 7.3 i686

    Back has never been enabled so why would I now be receiving this message ?
     
  2. eglwolf

    eglwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same here I have a customers server that just started doing this.
     
  3. Alexandre Duran

    Alexandre Duran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - BRAZIL
    The error is diferent here:

    /usr/bin/mysqladmin: connect to server at 'localhost' failed
    error: 'Access denied for user: 'root@localhost' (Using password: NO)'
    Backup Not Enabled
     
  4. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Try the command:

    Code:
    rdate rdate.cpanel.net
    What are the results?
     
  5. espsoft

    espsoft Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been having the same problems, getting the connection refused error. When I type in the command, I get back the system date, supposedly from the server.

    In my instance: Tue Jan 4 05:48:15 2005

    What should I have gotten back?

    If it is in fact updating, why the error message?
     
  6. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    This just means it can't connect to the cpanel rdate server to sync your time. The server may have been down or inaccessible at the time.
     
  7. [iGri]

    [iGri] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've had the same problem for past 3 days also.

    If I run it manually, it returns fine:
    rdate: [rdate.cpanel.net] Wed Jan 5 15:44:29 2005

    Anyone figure out whats wrong here?
     
  8. tsook

    tsook Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem here, doesent work automatically, but works manually!
     
  9. DomineauX

    DomineauX Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same error for me...works manually but not auto.

    Any resolution from CPanel or anyone else?
     
  10. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    We are unable to replicate at this poiint in time. The command rna via cpbackup is:
    rdate -s rdate.cpanel.net

    so if:
    rdate rdate.cpanel.net
    is working for you this has to also. I have checked the firewall on the server and no IP's are being blocked for that port nor am I showing the service going down.
    Also every ticket we have, when logging into the server and running the command, it is working as expected. If someone can find a server that the command does not work on, please let us know and we will look into it.
     
  11. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the same problem "rdate: couldn't connect to host rdate.cpanel.net: Connection refused" I've had it for a few days now.

    From ssh the command "rdate -s rdate.cpanel.net" returns no output or errors.

    From ssh the command "rdate rdate.cpanel.net" returns the date and time as expected.


    Pete
    ****************
    WHM 9.9.9 cPanel 9.9.9-S15
    RedHat Enterprise 3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
    ****************
     
  12. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    heh, it seems i have the same problem.

    rdate: couldn't connect to host rdate.cpanel.net: Connection refused
    pkgacct started.
    pkgacct version 2.8 - running with uid 0
    Copying Reseller Config...Done
    ...

    but

    root@seven [~]# rdate rdate.cpanel.net
    rdate: [rdate.cpanel.net] Wed Jan 12 08:29:41 2005


    spooky. good thing it's not a big issue.
     
  13. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA

    This is great billy but the fact is my techs have a ticket in with you guys for the pasy 4 days. I have this issue on 2 servers which has been going on for the last 5 days.


    Both say:

    rdate: couldn't connect to host rdate.cpanel.net: Connection refused
    Backup is not done today as per whm backup settings at /scripts/cpbackup line 162.



    If Ihave the issue, yeah it's server related. If a dozen or so people have the issue then it's cpanel related. Let's get it fixed.
     
  14. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have this happening randomly across at least two servers over the past 5 days. It doesn't happen every night. On one it has been 4 out of 5 days and on the other it has been 3. There is definitely something wrong somewhere, and I don't think it is the servers that are trying to connect having the problem or I would see it on more of the 5 machines I manage. There is nothing wrong with the rdate command on the machines. I am wondering if it has something to do with the rdate server that they are trying to connect to.
     
  15. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    By the way, when it does happen, the upcp email gets split. I get two emails. I get one for the upcp run that shows everything down to the backup stage and then a second one for cpbackup starting with the rdate error message. Normally all the information in both of these emails is contained in the one single upcp email.
     
  16. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have been getting them, randomly, for about two weeks - so it would be in a patch older than that. I am alos getting two messages - but I assume Cpanel changed somethin because I now have a listing for cpbackup in my cron - and it was called directly from upcp. Is upcp no longer calling it or am I running it twice now?
     
  17. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, they changed cpbackup to run at 1am by default instead of after upcp I believe
     
  18. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    I'm also receiving 2 emails from the server with the rdate connection error.


    Pete
     
  19. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I experienced the same thing last night, although I did get the upcp mail at the regular time, but then 4 hours later I received another /scripts/upcp mail and a /scripts/cpbackup mail.

    The first line in the /scripts/backup mail says:

    rdate: couldn't connect to host rdate.cpanel.net: Connection timed out

    I did do a /scripts/updatenow last night, so something must have been changed regarding upcp and/or backups.
     
    #19 jamesbond, Jan 18, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2005
  20. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    crontab -e

    try changing the time your cpanel updates.

    I noticed a week or so ago our crontab was changed by a cpanel update and it put in the separate setting for backup from upcp

    I wonder if it did this to all servers setting them at the same time therefore causing this connection issue, we changed our times back to what we want plus we moved the time apart for update and backup to run by another 10 minutes, this gives the update time to finish before starting backup.

    we had not had one server run the update error as mentioned here on the forum. we have several cpanel servers.

    Nicholas admin.
     
Loading...

Share This Page