The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/scripts/cpbackup : write failed, user block limit reached.

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by eagle, Oct 28, 2004.

  1. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Running cpbackup manually over ftp, I get
    while copying homedirectories for some users. The partition is /home where the write failes.

    I hope this doesn't mean that the homepartition of each individual user has to be (e.g.) twice the size of the homedirectory, because of the fact that the copy is also written in that directory.

    I think that because of this my backup is incomplete. I never had this problem on another server, with a backup on a second internal hdd. The partitions scheme was more or less the same as this one, and it had the same accounts/packages.

    Anyone got an idea?
     
  2. s_2_s

    s_2_s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same Problem Here
     
  3. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    *bump*

    Am I missing something when I look at this? Is the scripts trying to write to a /cpbackuptmp (which is in /home) that is too small?

    If I'm half blind, I would appreciate someone to point me in the right direction. If not, I'd like a hint on how to get a complete backup and not a half. The homedirectories are not copied.

    Thanks
     
    #3 eagle, Nov 1, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2004
  4. HendrikM

    HendrikM Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cpbackup + quotas = broken backups!!!

    :eek: I think this is a bug - I am too getting this...

    A users quota is set to say 100MB, and currently he is currently using say 95MB.

    cpbackup creates a subdir under /home called /cpbackuptmp where all the relevant data for the user is copied to and is then compressed. The compressed file will be copied to the FTP server.

    While the user's files and data is being copied into the temp directory the user's quota is exceeded, as his used space is now nearly double - 95MB+95MB=190MB=exceeding his quota, and you end up with an incomplete backup for this user.

    cPanel support - PLEASE HELP!!! :confused:
     
  5. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think /cpbackuptemp is also used for local backups, since the data needs to be tarred and the original data will be left untouched. So it makes no difference what you use, local or ftp?

    I submitted a ticket.
     
  6. HendrikM

    HendrikM Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is crazy!

    So we should double-up on all quotas (so the backups will work) and the user thinks he is in heaven, uses the space and backups break again!

    Wow! :mad:
     
  7. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Settle down.

     
  8. HendrikM

    HendrikM Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    And how do I go about upgrading this script? :confused:
     
  9. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I don't know for sure, but I suspect /scripts/updatenow would do the trick. If not, you would need to upgrade CPanel to the latest Edge.
     
  10. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't know for the others, but that is not the problem I stated.

    I don't have users over their limits and I don't have empty home directory backups. Even with accounts with double the space in their homedir, I have a problem.

    I don't have a respons on the ticket either....
     
  11. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Update CPanel ticket:

    I have to look into what I earlier said, that it also happens with accounts that have more available than double the originale used space. Judging this answer, that would not be the case.
     
Loading...

Share This Page