The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/scripts/easyapache error ?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by isputra, Jun 7, 2003.

  1. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    My WHM shows :

    You are running an insecure apache setup. You should run /scripts/easyapache and upgrade to a newer version as soon as possible to avoid your system being compromised.


    WHY ?

    That message not showing at almost a month after my provider install my server.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. wknight

    wknight Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This one is a NEW one
    The other one ( about 2 months ago ) was to upgrade mod_ssl to 2.8.12

    Now, you should upgrade ASAP to get the 2.8.14

    Good luck

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    so .. how to do that ?

    i am tottaly a newbie to WHM. i tried go to http://www.mydomain.com:2086/scripts/easyapache but i have white page.

    it's help me much if i have step by step HOWTO for this matter :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am not very expert, but I succeeded in this so I'll give it a try.

    First, you can't run this script by using your browser. You should use your ssh program to log onto your server as root. (If you don't know about ssh, it's like telnet except that it prevents your root password from being visible to anybody snooping the internet).

    Once you have logged in with ssh, you should have a shell prompt, such as:

    Bash-2.05a#

    In response, you type:

    /scripts/easyapache [carriage return]

    Now a humongous amount of text will scroll on your screen for many minutes. It will stop to ask you only one question. This question is whether you want to chose #1, 2, 3, 4, 5.

    The choices 2, 3, 4, and five are to include certain features in apache. These features have to do with some advanced stuff. If you are using your webserver for simple stuff, choose 1. If you prefer to play safe by including everything, choose 4.

    More stuff will appear onscreen; it will seem endless. Eventually it will stop.

    Check your apache to confirm that it's running OK. If you have some site running php and mysql, check it too. Check to see that you can log into WHM and cpanel.

    All done.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    thanks trakwebster,

    but i get "No such file or directory" when i hit /scripts/easyapache on my server using root and SSH.

    i go to /scripts directory and yes, there is no easyapache file at all.

    so how to do this update ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I regret to say, isputra, that question is now beyond my skill level. I think it might be time for you to contact your provider for assistance with this.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. terrific

    terrific Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When you are in that dir /scripts type this exactly with the . and everything.



    ./easyapache

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    thank you all for your help ..

    my problem fix using rsync to cpanel.net that i found on this forum but other thread. :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page