The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/scripts/easyapache ?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by mpope2, Jun 22, 2002.

  1. mpope2

    mpope2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I was just wondering if anyone has used the /scripts/easyapache upgrade script? I would like to use it, but don't want to do it if it's going to mess anything up. Has anyone had success with it?
     
  2. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I ran it this evening...

    It was a little &scary& as apache wouldn't restart when it should have.

    I needed to edit out some of the modules, rewrite, and gzip in particular. mod_rewrite is now a DSO versus static as previously.

    I've not fixed the gzip issue yet.

    If you're familiar and comfortable with editing the httpd.conf to fix module issues, you shouldn't have too much problem doing the update that way.

    If you're not too sure about rearranging apache modules and such, you might want to do some research first.
     
  3. Maximiliam

    Maximiliam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We had the problem with CGI scripts going blank just after a few hours of operation.

    Making us look really unprofesional.
     
  4. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have had some problems after upgrading our boxes. One was fine, another appears to have messed up permissions and ownerships with all cgi scripts....any ideas why and how it can be prevented/fixed?
     
  5. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:94107944ed][i:94107944ed]Originally posted by purplepaws[/i:94107944ed]

    We have had some problems after upgrading our boxes. One was fine, another appears to have messed up permissions and ownerships with all cgi scripts....any ideas why and how it can be prevented/fixed?[/quote:94107944ed]

    If you run easyapache using the &beginnner& option it automatically enables suexec. If you didn't have suexec enabled before, this could be your problem.
     
  6. Dotcoms

    Dotcoms Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Updated fine for me, no problems found as yet.....
     
  7. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:ce861db7a2]If you run easyapache using the &beginnner& option it automatically enables suexec. If you didn't have suexec enabled before, this could be your problem.[/quote:ce861db7a2]

    Thats exactly whats happened :)
     
  8. ceejayoz

    ceejayoz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had to open the script and run it line by line. It was giving me an error on line 3, when I typed the lines in manually they worked fine.
     
  9. Stormtrooper

    Stormtrooper Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Other than the fact that it a) recompiled PHP for us and &upgraded& to version 4.2.1 which caused a nightmare and b) did not install the zend optimizer and c) did not warn us or give us an option not to do so, and d) seemed to have some effect on suexec that makes it work better (properly?) now, it went pretty well.
     
  10. exahost

    exahost Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    A question about the script.

    I ran /scripts/easyapache in Advanced mode. Nowhere did I see an option to enable mod_rewrite. There is an option for a rewrite module in PHP? An I missing something? Is this the same as mod_rewrite? Does anyone know how to modify the install to allow for this?

    Any help would be great.

    Cheers,

    Pete
     
  11. myros

    myros Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    To get rewrite running after the upgrade just add this line to httpd.conf

    LoadModule rewrite_module libexec/mod_rewrite.so

    Above the AddModule area, (some folks over at VO also had to do the same for the php4 module to get apache to start.) Thats assuming you already had mod_rewrite installed prior to upgrade?
    If I understand things correctly mod_rewrite is no longer part of the static build so has to be loaded in as above ... that sound about right experts? :)

    Myros
     
  12. exahost

    exahost Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    /scripts/easyapache

    Hi there. Thanks for your help.

    I tried that and it doesn't work. Probably because I didn't have it installed before the upgrade.

    I wonder of there is a way for me to recompile but maybe modify a Configuration file for /scripts/easyapache to tell it to include it.

    Still pulling my hair out.

    Thanks.
     
  13. exahost

    exahost Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    By the way. This is the contents at compile time of /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/modules/apache

    $APVER=&1.3.26&;
    $MODULE{'rewrite'} = join(&:&,&Rewrite Module&,&0&,&--enable-module=rewrite --enable-shared=rewrite&,&&,&1&,&0&);
    $MODULE{'expire'} = join(&:&,&Expires Module&,&0&,&--enable-module=expires --enable-shared=expires&,&&,&1&,&0&);
    $MODULE{'suexec'} = join(&:&,&suEXEC Module&,&0&,&--enable-suexec --suexec-logfile=/usr/local/apache/logs/suexec_log --suexec-caller
    =nobody --suexec-uidmin=100 --suexec-gidmin=100 --suexec-docroot=/ --suexec-userdir=public_html&,&&,&1&,&0&); $SETMODULE{'rewrite'}
    = 1;
    $SETMODULE{'suexec'} = 0;
    $SETMODULE{'expire'} = 1;
    $SETMODULE{'rewrite'} = 1;

    1;

    According to what I see, rewrite should be there. But, when I do a httpd -l it says nothing of mod_rewrite and I have tested with an .htaccess file with some rewrite rules: no go.

    Pete
     
  14. hst

    hst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did two server

    I ran it on two servers without any problems. RH7.2
     
Loading...

Share This Page