The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/scripts/park

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by maverick2, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. maverick2

    maverick2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm sure I'm missing something really obvious here, but when I run /scripts/park from shell it appears to create the DNS zone for the newly parked domain, but doesn't add the appropriate ServerAlias line to httpd.conf. The process works fine when I do it through WHM, but not through the command line. Looking at the /scripts/park it doesn't actually seem that there is an instruction to modify the httpd.conf file and it would almost seem that the Park or Point a Domain feature in WHM is executing a different script entirely? Or is there a second script that needs to be launched after /scripts/park?

    Can anyone shed any light on this? 'twould be much appreciated... it's got me stumped.

    Mav.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 maverick2, Sep 29, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2003
  2. maverick2

    maverick2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does /scripts/park work for anyone, or is it just my servers?

    i.e. does
    /scripts/park mydomain.net parkeddomain.net
    actually set up a parked domain correctly?

    On our servers, the ServerAlias lines in httpd.conf are not added.

    I'm trying to set up a script which automates parking some domains - I was hoping to be able to use /scripts/park to do this, but it just doesn't seem to work?

    If someone could confirm that this isn't just our boxes where this doesn't work, it would be much appreciated.

    Mav.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. maverick

    maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well I got a reply back from CPanel support about this issue. They told me that the actual code used to park domains in WHM/Cpanel is compiled into the cpaneld daemon, and that I would need to write my own script to park a domain. This did at least confirm my suspicion that /scripts/park no longer worked.

    Oh well... has anybody out there written a script that mimics the function of the Park or Point Domain feature in WHM?

    Mav.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 24917
     
  4. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm looking exactly for such a script. Did you find one already?

    Michael
     
  5. maverick

    maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No I didn't. I ended up writing a custom solution myself that did the job. I've moved on from web hosting now, so unfortunately I can't give you the code.

    Mav.
     
  6. payne

    payne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    I'm looking for just such a script, too. It seems like a park script would need to:

    1) Add entry in named.conf
    2) add /var/named/{domain}.db
    3) add entry to /etc/localdomains
    4) add {domain} file to /etc/valiases
    5) add DNS# entry to /var/cpanel/users
    6) add ServerAlias to httpd.conf
    7) add entry to /etc/userdomains
    8) restart apache and bind

    /script/park actually does #1-4
    /script/rebuildparkeddomains will do #6 if #5 is done.

    So... it seems without writing a script, we can:
    - run /scripts/park primary.com parked.com
    - add DNS# entry to /var/cpanel/users
    - run /scripts/rebuildparkeddomains
    - add entry to /etc/userdomains
    - restart apache and bind

    Not so automated, I guess.

    So, are there more steps than this required to fully set up a parked domain on a cpanel box? Does anyone want to take a crack at writing a script or know of one that exists?
     
  7. thekonqueror

    thekonqueror Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have designed a script that will park the domains from shell.

    Script can be used as following:

    /scripts/newpark primarydomain.com parkeddomain.com

    It will automatically update all config files, and cpanel / WHM will reflect the parked domain properly.

    If anyone is interested in the script, PM me.
     
Loading...

Share This Page