Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

/scripts/restorepkg --ip fail

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by dasadmin, Nov 28, 2012.

1. dasadmin

dasadmin Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, everyone!

I first just wanted to start off by thanking cPanel for a sweet product that I enjoy using and "admin'ing." I am a system admin at a webhost and have come across a problem and I must reach out to cPanel and the community.

Essentially, I am working on some automation for account moves, and the problem is when restoring a cPanel package using the --ip=1.2.3.4 argument - the feature seems to fail a lot of the time.

Quick overview: when restoring an account package with the syntax mentioned below, hypothetically cPanel will restore the account directly onto the IP specified with the --ip argument, as well as install the SSL cert [if any] included in the package:

Code:
    /scripts/restorepkg --ip=1.2.3.4 /home/cpmove-userna5.tar.gz
    The problem is that this does not always work. I took it upon myself to figure out at least what circumstances determine when --ip will fail, if not exactly why it fails. I will try to explain this as clearly as possible.

When it will work

the --ip= option will always work when used during the first account restore after it's initial creation. For example:

- I create the account userna5 on serverA
    - Add IP 1.2.3.4 to serverA
    - Change userna5's IP to 1.2.3.4
    - Install SSL onto the account userna5

Then...

- Package up userna5
    - Send the cpmove file to serverB
    - Remove 1.2.3.4 from serverA, add it to serverB, rearp IP
    - Restore the account on serverB with the following command:

Code:
    /scripts/restorepkg --ip=1.2.3.4 /home/cpmove-userna5.tar.gz
    SUCCESS!!!