The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/scripts/securetmp kills apache

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by PPNSteve, Aug 9, 2004.

  1. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    we just ran the script /scripts/securetmp and for some reason now apache doesn't serve pages anymore. whm/cpanel still load fine but noneof our clients sites load.
    also before apache quit, we were getting reports of MySQL errors (somethingabout can not write to /tmp/<name>.MYI

    any ideas? suggestions on how to fix this?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Have you tried stopping and starting apache and checking the error log if it fails to start?

    Is there a mysql lock file in the /tmp directory symlinked to the real lock file? Have you tried to restart mysql?
     
  3. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Yeah, securetmp will remove the mysql.lock file. You will need to replace it. It shouldn't affect apache.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    When you run securetmp it is meant to copy the lock file. You can recreate it with:

    cd /tmp
    ln -s /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock

    Then restart MySQL.
     
  5. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    You're right. Will was too strong a word. But that was my experience. Other than that it worked great and I was pleased with the results.
     
  6. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes restarted everything multiple times.. same resuslts - no web pages served. it's something to do with the /tmp dir filling up (though it's never done this before)

    Ok seems that symlink is there:

    now every few hours appche will stop serving pages (it's still running fine)
    after we remove some .wrk files apache starts serving pages again..

    any other suggestions?
     
    #6 PPNSteve, Aug 10, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2004
  7. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    tried this.. will see how it goes thru-out today.. (/tmp is now at 2.3Mb size)

    hopefully this will fix it. :|
     
Loading...

Share This Page