Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

/scripts/sysup not using proper update method

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mclehner, Nov 5, 2004.

  1. mclehner

    mclehner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    LATEST UPDATE:

    It is not using Redhat 9 RPMs or Fedora Core 2 RPMs, but now I am getting this error:


    I just got this new box, and it was installed with Redhat 9 becuase that was the only thing the host would install for me. So I went ahead and upgraded it to Fedora Core 2 like I have done with other boxes. Now I am having a problem with cpanel trying to install Redhat 9 RPMs for some reason instead of using yum to check for Fedora Core 2 RPMs. Like I said my other Fedora Core 2 server have no problem with this, and I havn't been able to find the reason for the problem. Below are some logs from /scripts/sysup, /scripts/rpmup:

    /scripts/sysup:

    (bla bla no errors here)
    /scripts/rpmup:

    (bla bla no errors here...)

    If anyone has had this problem with Fedora COre 2 or knows how to fix it, the help would be greatly appreciated. I am stumped at the moment, been working on it for only an hour though. I will be happy to provide any more information needed, just ask.

    Matthew Lehner
     
    #1 mclehner, Nov 5, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2004
  2. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Is there a /etc/redhat-release file? What does it say?

    Cpanel might be using it to determine the OS.
     
  3. mclehner

    mclehner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    That was the first thing I checked. Output below:

    root@ashley [~]# cat /etc/redhat-release
    cat: /etc/redhat-release: No such file or directory

    So teh redhat-release doesn't exist...

    root@ashley [~]# cat /etc/fedora-release
    Fedora Core release 2 (Tettnang)
    root@ashley [~]#

    and the fedora-release does, looks right.

    Matthew Lehner
     
  4. mclehner

    mclehner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    I got a little farther in fixing this problem. But now it's downloading Fedora Core 1 upgrades. Is there someway I could "reset" the update system, cuase it seems to save the system version somewhere, cuase if I change my system version in /etc/fedora-release it has no affect on the script.


    Matthew Lehner
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    touch /var/cpanel/useyum
     
  6. mclehner

    mclehner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Thanks cpanelnick. That fixed the problem.

    Matthew Lehner
     
  7. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    What exactly does this do? How did it help fix the problem...?
     
  8. webits

    webits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    You find out what that do.
    I'd like to know .


     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Nope not yet lol.
     
  10. jdarow

    jdarow Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It tells cPanel to use yum
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice