The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/scripts/upcp failing ???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MillerOutdoors, Feb 8, 2004.

  1. MillerOutdoors

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've tried upgrading to the lates CPanel numberous times over the last 24 hours.

    I've attempted the suggested...
    rm -f /usr/local/cpanel/cpanel
    /scripts/upcp


    Currently none of the e-mails are making it out of the mail que and everything is frozen. I assume this will fix itself when the update gets successfully completed.

    Here's what I get trying to run /scripts/upcp via ssh...
    Also trying to 'update server software' via WHM, I get...
    Input would be greatly appreciated. :)
     
    #1 MillerOutdoors, Feb 8, 2004
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2004
  2. MillerOutdoors

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The one common denominator in trying it via ssh and via the WHM was this part of the error message.
    CPanel isn't functioning properly in many areas and I've got to get this worked through. :(

    Is anyone else getting this? What to do about it?
     
  3. zanboor

    zanboor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here.

    Has anybody managed to solve this? Or is time to dump cPanel and go for something else?

    Z.
     
  4. zanboor

    zanboor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I haven't submitted any, yet.

    Since this is a common problem, one would expect a solution here.

    Z.


     
  5. MillerOutdoors

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ditto, neither had I (just did, though), and from the sounds of it those that have submitted tickets aren't hearing anything too quickly. Quite aggravating, really, all these necessary support tickets flying to and fro. :(
     
    #5 MillerOutdoors, Feb 8, 2004
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2004
  6. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    have u tried doing /scripts/updatenow
    then
    /scripts/upcp

    Might not help, but doesn't hurt to try lol.
     
  7. zanboor

    zanboor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did that and I got the same resynch errors!
    I am now thinking the problem could be in my box not being able to connect!

    Z.
     
  8. MillerOutdoors

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Check your /etc/resolv.conf file. I just checked mine and all that was there was
    No nameservers, no nothing else.

    This was most assuredly correct just before the CPanel update attempt. Very weird. :(
     
  9. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this issue for about two weeks. One thing to check is to make sure port 873 is open inbound/outbound on your firewall for rsync then make sure the port 22 ssh is open inbound/outbound as well. Normally you dont need to open port 22 outbound however Cpanel did something and the only way i got a successful connection was opening ssh outbound as well.
     
  10. masondixon

    masondixon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have been round and round with this problem.

    my resolv.conf and /etc/hosts were fine, yet many things still did not work.

    finally found this thread, and opening port 873 worked like a charm. much thanks.
     
  11. mitul

    mitul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    For Me the Simple reason was that Named was Down hehe ;)

    I Started and it Worked :)

    Thanks
     
  12. linuxman

    linuxman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I check the resolv.conf file and it was incorrect. Fixed that and everything is working fine, I had several errors.
     
Loading...

Share This Page