Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

scripts/upcp from Oct 14th is broken

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MaraBlue, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry I can't be more descriptive that that ATM. In an effort to troubleshoot a MailScanner issue, I upgraded MailScanner. *That* went fine, as did upgrading ClamAV, retarting Exim, etc.

    I thought, just to cover all the bases, I'd run scripts/upcp. *sigh*

    I get an email saying my hostname had no A record (it had and with no issues, as of the nightly upcp run at 1am). Nothing had been changed. I went to look at the /etc/hosts and found the timestamp changed.

    Now the server isn't responding, and I've waiting for it to reboot.

    Bottom line: I believe *something* in the upcp from today (and there looked like a LOT of things got upgraded) isn't working as intended. I don't want to be a chicken little, but if someone from cPanel (or someone who knows more than I do about these sort of things) could take a look at today's update, it might be beneficial to all of us.

    EDIT: It looks like it's broken something in Bind again. I'm working on it...

    EDIT #2: Yep, upcp overwrote /etc/named.conf, and for whatever reason it erased all zones. I had a good working backup copy of named.conf, cp'ed it over, and things appear to be functional. And now to find how to edit out the caching-nameserver from being updated so this doesn't happen again...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 MaraBlue, Oct 14, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2006
  2. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    what version of cPanel are you using?
     
  3. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R34
    Release version

    EDIT: Make that WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R44, after the update.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #3 MaraBlue, Oct 14, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice