The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/scripts/upcp hang

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by InterServed, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. InterServed

    InterServed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    while trying to update to latest CURRENT build it seems that the updater hangs:
    (last lines of the update before it hangs):
    -----------------------------------------------
    /etc/exim.pl.local installed!
    cPScript::Exim::Config check PASSED!!
    ..Starting clamd: ..[ OK ]
    Starting exim-26: [ OK ]
    Starting exim: [ OK ]
    Starting exim-smtps: [ OK ]
    Starting antirelayd: [ OK ]
    Starting spamd: .[ OK ]
    Starting antirelayd: [ OK ]
    `Cpanel/ClamScanner.pm' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/ClamScanner.pm'
    `html/clamavconnector/newscan.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/newscan.html'
    `html/clamavconnector/clam.png' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/clam.png'
    `html/clamavconnector/scan.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/scan.html'
    `html/clamavconnector/blank.gif' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/blank.gif'
    `html/clamavconnector/disinfect.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/disinfect.html'
    `html/clamavconnector/live_go.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/live_go.html'
    `html/clamavconnector/blank.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/blank.html'
    `html/clamavconnector/clam.gif' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/clam.gif'
    `html/clamavconnector/ts.css' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/ts.css'
    `html/clamavconnector/cleanstyle.css' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/cleanstyle.css'
    `html/clamavconnector/bar.gif' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/bar.gif'
    `html/clamavconnector/live_disinfect.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/live_disinfect.html'
    `html/clamavconnector/index.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/index.html'
    `html/clamavconnector/bars.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/bars.html'
    `html/clamavconnector/scanner.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/clamavconnector/scanner.html'
    ln: creating symbolic link `./clamavconnector' to `../x/clamavconnector': File exists
    mkdir: cannot create directory `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/cells/': File exists
    `cells/clamavconnector.html' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/cells/clamavconnector.html'
    ln: creating symbolic link `./cells' to `../x/cells': File exists
    ./install: line 148: [: !-e: unary operator expected
    `whmaddons/clamavconnector' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/addonsfeatures/clamavconnector'
    `addon_clamavconnector.cgi' -> `/usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi/addon_clamavconnector.cgi'
    zlib version checking was disabled. zlib versions <= 1.2.1 have a know security vulnerability
    See http://www.zlib.net/ for more information
    ...Done
    Updating addon type:modules addon:pro version:1.0.......Done

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------

    after the last visible line "Updating addon type:modules addon:pro version:1.0.......Done" it remains like that for hours and nothing else happens , tho the connection/sessions is still open.

    System:
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 5.1 (Tikanga) on 2.6.18-53.1.14.el5PAE
     
  2. AlexV.

    AlexV. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    InterServed:

    I have not been able to replicate this issue.

    What version was your server running prior to updating to the latest CURRENT. (Stable, Release, Edge and version if you have that available)

    Also, did you have clamAV installed or uninstalled prior to the update to CURRENT.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also, during the hang, if you login to another console and execute:

    Code:
    ps auxf
    
    What does that show for the UPCP and child processes?
     
  4. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    just run it again. Then it will not hang.
     
  5. InterServed

    InterServed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Logged with a different sessions and killed the upcp processes and then running the script again fixed the problems/hang.
     
  6. vincentg

    vincentg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    new york
    Two Fedora core 5 servers same problem on both.

    One server crashed and has been down for 4 hours - tech support is trying to fix it.

    The other I just killed the process and ran upgrade script - it ran ok.

    Vin
     
  7. InterServed

    InterServed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    just updated again to latest 11.18.4-CURRENT_23804

    It seems that the problem has something to do with exim & clamav or just one of them.

    Ah well, guess i'll survive with killing processes and running update again :P
     
  8. optik001

    optik001 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the same problem - how do I kill all upcp processes?
     
  9. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Happening to me on a cPanel 11.18.3-R21703 server running REDHAT Enterprise 5.1

    First time a couple days ago, thought it may be a fluke. Happened again tonight with the upcp, got an email saying it won't run as there is already a upcp update in progress.
     
  10. vincentg

    vincentg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    new york
    I see this message when upcp is run

    .configure: WARNING:
    ****** WARNING:
    ****** You are either cross compiling to a different host or
    ****** you have manually disabled important configure checks.
    ****** Please be aware that this build may be badly broken.
    ****** DO NOT REPORT BUGS BASED ON THIS BUILD !!!

    That looks a little scary - lol

    It doesn't hang there although
    It hangs at the point when it's updating Pro near the end of the update.

    I had to run upcp --force on both servers that have Fedora
    Both hung and I had to kill the process and run it again and it completes the second time

    The server that crashed had a bad backup drive and was not related to this problem.
     
  11. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Happened on another server configured identically to the other one...
     
  12. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    After the last night upcp, the cpsrvd crashed. And could not started again.

    So i did do a manual /scripts/upcp and it installed:
    WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.18.4-C23808

    The version that was installed (or a try) last night was:
    WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.18.4-C23804

    Now cpsrvd is starting again and customers can log in to cpanel again.
     
  13. vincentg

    vincentg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    new york
    best to use /scripts/upcp --force

    Else you will get other errors

    I noticed services failing and re-starting untill I did that.

    For now all seems well
     
  14. elma

    elma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Code:
    root@zero [~]# ps auxf | grep upcp
    root     18980  0.0  0.0   9680  5812 pts/0    S+   14:35   0:00  |       \_ cPanel Update (upcp) - Master
    root     18985  0.0  0.0   9840  5696 ?        Ss   14:35   0:00  |           \_ cPanel Update (upcp) - Slave
    root      5964  0.0  0.0   3896   648 pts/1    S+   14:43   0:00          \_ grep upcp
    
     
  15. AlexV.

    AlexV. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have been trying to replicate this issue among various flavors and versions of Linux. However unsuccessful. Could one of you please open a support ticket attention 'QA' in order to take a deeper look at this matter.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  16. andren

    andren Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Alex, we have the same bug (among a few others). We have submitted a ticket cPanel ID# 247917.

    For cpanelkenneth: I did a 'ps waux' before seeing the discussion here, may be it helps anyways.

    Code:
    ps waux | grep upcp
    root     10065  0.0  0.0  61128   720 pts/0    S+   01:20   0:00 grep upcp
    root     14260  0.0  0.1  96316  8204 pts/2    S+   00:05   0:00 cPanel Update (upcp) - Master
    root     14324  0.0  0.1  98664  8276 ?        Ss   00:05   0:00 cPanel Update (upcp) - Slave
    
    Process hangs forever - we kept one going for 48 hours, it results in error in cron run of cpanel update
     
    #16 andren, Apr 26, 2008
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2008
  17. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    cPanel tickets ID# 247898

    In fact, one of the servers is hung right now with the UPCP. Got a reply from Michael Photakis regarding the ticket and updated him, but, don't think he's accessed the server.
     
    #17 ckh, Apr 26, 2008
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2008
  18. tprice42

    tprice42 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem here on FreeBSD 6.2 Release - WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.18.3-R21703

    Upcp appears to stall just after reinstalling courier when using /scripts/upcp --force

    Look forward to hearing more about this problem, does anyone know of any upcp specific logs and their locations?
     
  19. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks to your reports here, and the few tickets that were opened, we are narrowing down the problem area. We hope to have the problem identified and resolved 'soon.'
     
  20. gargalatas

    gargalatas Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same prob here.
    It says 100% Complete but never quits... It runs forever.
    Last lines:
    Code:
    zlib version checking was disabled. zlib versions <= 1.2.1 have a know security vulnerability
    See http://www.zlib.net/ for more information
    ...Done
    Updating addon type:modules addon:pro version:1.0.......Done
     
    #20 gargalatas, Apr 28, 2008
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page