The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seamless way to change IP on website ??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wosiho99, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. wosiho99

    wosiho99 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there a Seamless way to change the IP address of a website
    meaning, I don't want the website to go down for 48 hours
    while the IP propagates......

    I heard that the IP migration wizard might work......?

    Would love to hear if this can be done.!

    Thanks!
     
  2. wosiho99

    wosiho99 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for moving my post to newbies.
    No i am surely not going to get any help.
     
  3. InstaCarma_Tech

    InstaCarma_Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It is difficult to suggest something with the little information available.
    Do you have root access to the server or is this a shared hosting account?
    Is the site on a dedicated IP or does it share the IP with other domains or the server itself?
     
  4. wosiho99

    wosiho99 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry, it's on a dedicated server with a unique IP address.
    I just got some extra IPs for my server.

    Is it seamless to use the IP migration wizard or just do
    the Change IP in account functions ?

    Thanks !
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might do this late night if you're concerned about downtime. ;)
    Domain names need propagate to the server, IP's can be changed without downtime as they are the server so to speak.
     
  6. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Provided there is an available IP address to switch to, it is possible to simply use the feature in WHM to change an account IP address. I agree with Infopro that this type of change would be best performed during a time of low usage where the server is the least busy, typically this may be during late night hours.

    Here are the two menu paths in WHM where the change can be performed:
    WHM: Main >> Account Functions >> Change Site's IP Address
    WHM: Main >> IP Functions >> Change Site's IP Address

    Here is our documentation for the above:
    AcctFunctions < AllDocumentation/WHMDocs < TWiki
    IPFunctions < AllDocumentation/WHMDocs < TWiki
    ChangeSiteIP < AllDocumentation/WHMDocs < TWiki


    The only propagation required would be for recent site visitors that also have a cached copy of the DNS query result from a time before the IP change within the minimum TTL period (time frame) defined in the DNS zone. Visitors will see the IP change immediately if they do not have a current cached entry of the domain, or after their cached DNS query result expires.

    It is possible for affected visitors to attempt forcing their DNS cache to be flushed (cleared or reset), but this process or method to flush the DNS cache varies depending on the OS being used on their own computer (e.g., Windows, Mac OS X).

    For Windows, via a Command Prompt window:
    Code:
    ipconfig /flushdns
    For Mac OS X, via a Terminal window:
    Code:
    dscacheutil -flushcache
    For any OS, it may also be necessary to close and re-open the browser windows (because the browsers could also cache DNS queries), and preferably close all browser windows before flushing the DNS cache.
     
Loading...

Share This Page