The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Searching for ways to offer S3 space using Fuse having some issues though

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Frankk, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. Frankk

    Frankk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here's what I'm trying to do:

    I want to offer disk space on S3 (which is unlimited) and I charge the customer for the space they use. disk space is provided by Amazon (of course) but I want the FTP access to be handled through CPanel

    So far I was able to do what I wanted through alot of manual config and it does work, but I'd like to make it easier for me and my customers. I have to manually create the ftp user through SSH given that I have to map the S3 drive(using S3FS) at some place like /cloud/customer. I tried to map the drive at /home/customer/cloud but it wouldn't work as it broke any subsequent attempt to create new accounts (they would get created in that new mount)

    I don't know if that's clear enough, but feel free to ask any questions or offer any solutions.

    Thanks
     
  2. julienmru

    julienmru Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dear Frankk,

    We just had the same request, and we'll be using /https://www.nuagelabs.fr which a commercial solution offering to mount S3 (and other clouds) natively :)

    Full disclosure: they're French and I'm French so I may be biased here.

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you elaborate a bit more on the specific issue you had with creating new accounts? What error messages did you encounter?

    Thank you.
     
  4. Frankk

    Frankk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There was no error messages, here's an example of what happened:

    I would mount my S3 Bucket on /home/customer/cloud (or /home/customer/public_html/cloud) (I don't remember exactly as I tried both)

    from this point forward any account created would be created without error but at that same location i.e.: /home/customer/cloud/newaccount instead of the regular /home/newaccount.

    Julien:

    Thanks for the heads up, I'll be looking into it
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page