The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Second Hard Drive???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chriz1977, Dec 30, 2006.

  1. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi
    Ive just mounted a second hard drive on my box. Can I make WHM create accounts on this new drive? If so, how?
    Ive changed the setting in the basic WHM config to recognise the home2 dir, do i need to put the drive location in front of this path? Pleasehelp

    Cheers
    Chris
     
  2. Nhojohl

    Nhojohl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not sure if you can simply create an account on /home2/ but I know you can create it on your /home/ drive and then go to the "Rearrange Accounts" link and move the accounts you want to the /home2/ drive.
     
  3. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How about creating a link to home2 in the home dir, will that work?
     
  4. madan.cpanelnet

    madan.cpanelnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    INDIA
    Hi,

    In your WHM under "Basic cPanel/WHM Setup" use home2 as the value for "Home Directory Prefix".

    Next,

    As root,

    root@server [~]# mkdir /home2
    root@server [~]# mount -t ext3 /dev/hdb1 /home2 ( if /dev/hdb1 is your secondary drive)

    Next,

    root@server [~]# /scripts/initquotas
    root@server [~]# /scripts/fixquotas



    Make sure you see an entry like... in /etc/fstab

    /dev/hdb1 /home2 ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
     
Loading...

Share This Page