The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Second WHM root user

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wep, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. wep

    wep Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello, is it possible to add more then one "root" user account to be used in WHM functions? Basiclly I want to create an account with all the same permissions as "root".
     
  2. xrserver

    xrserver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yea I posted about this too. The steps i took to make another root user is.
    useradd -o -u 0 usernamehere
    passwd usernamehere
    passwordhere

    Below is a copy of my post

    "It worked perfectly for a day or so then I get a email from my cpanel warning me about the added root account and after that I can't log in anymore with it... It keeps deleting it. What is causing that and how do I fix it?"
     
  3. rainboy

    rainboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    IN WHM:

    Add USER to the wheel users group.
    Add USER to be a reseller with ALL privileges in WHM.

    IN SHELL:
    Add USER to the sudoers file. (/etc/sudoers)
    CHANGE USER from jail-shell to full shell. (/etc/passwd)

    This makes sure the User has all rights in WHM and is allowed to change everything through the WHM interface. When using SSH to access they have to use SUDO to switch to root. (I like it this way as i can limit the commands if needed, and keep better track of who did login at what time).

    Maybe there are better/easier ways, but this works and does where i need it for, maybe it may help you as well.
     
    #3 rainboy, Jan 27, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If this account only needs root-level privileges for the WHM interface (and not as an actual unix user), create a user account. Then go to the Reseller Center to give them Reseller Privileges, but be sure to check the box labeled All Features (warning: total and complete access).
     
  5. xrserver

    xrserver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No I need it to have full access to the box with shell. Can you tell me what is stopping the useradd command? Does whm stop me from having 2 users with UID 0? Is there another way to make a root user that will work?
     
  6. rainboy

    rainboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Do as i said, it will give you full root access through WHM and Shell. cPanel will not change these settings.
     
  7. Maximum

    Maximum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Can I Prevent this account to change root password ???


    Thank you :)
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    An account set up in this manner via WHM will not have the root password nor would it have sufficient privileges to the server to change the root password. The account only has root level access to WHM, not the entirety of the underlying Linux/FreeBSD server.
     
  9. Maximum

    Maximum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1


    But I tried to do this and I can change root password from WHM ...

    Thanks for you
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I stand corrected, I tested this just now on a test server and apparently have sufficient privileges to change the root password.
     
  11. mohd_007

    mohd_007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello rainboy,

    There is no file called /etc/sudoers in the server
     
  12. rainboy

    rainboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    It is of course possible you do not have sudo installed on your server.
    Or that the location for the configuration file is different on the linux distribution you used. Path given is the default location when sudo is installed.
     
    #12 rainboy, Feb 7, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2008
  13. Maximum

    Maximum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello cPanelDavidG .


    you can view attachment this it screen shoot from my WHM ( reseller access ) after I give him all access I can login with his account and go to >> Change Root Password << and change root password . :eek: :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Maximum

    Maximum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do you think it's normal ?? :confused: :confused:
     
  15. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As far as I can tell, this is intended functionality. If you do not like this behavior, feel welcome to submit an official feature request to change this at:

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net
     
Loading...

Share This Page