The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Secondary Nameserver Problem

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by gradal, Jan 6, 2007.

  1. gradal

    gradal Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi everybody,

    thanks to all of you who contribute to this great forum!

    I have a dedicated server with two IPs. xx.xx.xx.41 (main), xx.xx.xx.61 (secondary)
    According to my ISP I'm supposed to use these two IPs for setting up primary and secondary nameservers.

    After some configuration in WHM I can see that /etc/nameserverips now holds the following two lines:
    I've set my host name to serv.mydomain.se
    and set up a dns zone for mydomain.se like this:



    For some reason when I try to update the records (glued with A and NS) at my registrar it doesn't seem to find my secondary nameserver.
    Here's the automated email response I keep getting:

    Does anybody know what could be wrong in my setup?

    Thanks for taking your time!
    -Martin
     
  2. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    How long after the zone update are you trying to update the registrar?
     
  3. gradal

    gradal Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just after. Do you think that could be the problem?

    In that case isn't it strange that it only mentions the secondary nameserver IP?

    I have a feeling I'm missing some configuration..
     
  4. dafut

    dafut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You're showing a "serial mismatch" in the error response. Do both of your nameservers show the same serial (2007010700)? When you update ns1, do the changes properly replicate to ns2?
     
  5. gradal

    gradal Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't know. Are there specific zone files for the second nameserver, dispite running on the same machine?
     
  6. gradal

    gradal Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just noticed that I don't have any "slave" zones in my /etc/named.conf

    should there be something in there pointing xx.xx.xx.61 or ns2.mydomain.se to a new zone.

    Sorry if I'm throwing out too uneducated questions...
     
Loading...

Share This Page