The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Secondary Nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by shaka, Apr 4, 2006.

  1. shaka

    shaka Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    First login

    In area

    Secondary Nameserver:

    I write my second DNS server

    Secondary Nameserver: dns2.domain.plc

    I get error :
    Cannot determine ip for dns2.domain.plc
    Sorry, you are out of ips to assign as nameservers

    Did it try to register second DNS server on Cpanel server ? or what ?

    dns2.domain.plc work well.
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    You will have to add the ip on the server, the ip which you are going to assign for the nameserver and then add the nameservers.

    If the above is not your issue, please explain a bit more.
     
  3. shaka

    shaka Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    DNS problem

    I have 2 DNS server

    1st dns server
    cpanel installed
    ip:192.168.1.1
    hostname: dns1

    2nd dns server
    only dns
    ip:192.168.1.2
    hostname: dns2


    two DNS server are working.


    What address to put into field

    Secondary name server ?
     
    #3 shaka, Apr 4, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2006
  4. shaka

    shaka Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Dns

    Why I need two DNS (named ) server working on CPANEL SERVER ?
     
  5. Kerstin

    Kerstin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    I know a second DNS-server :rolleyes: is only profitably when the connection to the main server lost
    or a special DNS-server should be contacted.

    I belive the entry can setted in the network setup.
     
  6. shaka

    shaka Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Dns

    Yes but Setup force me to do Secondary DNS on the same server !
    Using ohter IP (virtual).
    If cpanel server is shutdown my 2 dns also be down !
    I can't find idea here.

    Probably only reason to do that is for hosting clients domain only with one server.
    You know that 2 IP (DNS ) is a must for register REAL domain.

    But anywhy :))
    First it is poorly docs and second useless.
     
  7. maximus_marcus

    maximus_marcus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Try it manually through the shell by editing the file /etc/nameserverips to add a nameserver.
     
  8. shaka

    shaka Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    tnks all

    I add one more IP for sec DNS !
     
Loading...

Share This Page