The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Secondary NIC installed, but all traffic coming through primary NIC

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Reado, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. Reado

    Reado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have a Xen VM running CentOS 5.6 x64 w/ cPanel-CURRENT. The network configuration is as follows:

    Code:
    NIC0 (ba-ff-ca-1c-fd-9a): 10.1.1.116
    NIC1 (22-43-73-91-bb-10): 10.1.1.115
    Both IPs can be pinged outside the server from a Windows 7 workstation. However when I run "arp -a" it says:

    Code:
    10.1.1.115            ba-ff-ca-1c-fd-9a     dynamic
    10.1.1.116            ba-ff-ca-1c-fd-9a     dynamic
    So even though each IP is bound to a different NIC and MAC address on the server and this is what XenServer sees, Windows reckons both IPs are bound to NIC0.

    As another test, I disabled NIC0 on the XenServer itself and then tried pinging 10.1.1.115 again but it timed out.

    Here's the output from ifconfig:

    Code:
    root@l1vs05rcms [/tmp/selfextract.8]# ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr BA:FF:CA:1C:FD:9A
              inet addr:10.1.1.116  Bcast:10.1.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::b8ff:caff:fe1c:fd9a/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:7980806 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1245247 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:10751839414 (10.0 GiB)  TX bytes:1750474802 (1.6 GiB)
    
    eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 22:43:73:91:BB:10
              inet addr:10.1.1.115  Bcast:10.1.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::2043:73ff:fe91:bb10/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:38196 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:352 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:5375064 (5.1 MiB)  TX bytes:15000 (14.6 KiB)
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:13257 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:13257 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:1803199 (1.7 MiB)  TX bytes:1803199 (1.7 MiB)
    
    root@l1vs05rcms [/tmp/selfextract.8]#
    Does anyone know what could be causing this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There's a setting in WHM > Server Configuration > Basic cPanel & WHM Setup > Basic Config tab, for selecting "The ethernet device onto which new IP addresses are added." that might be helpful to you.
     
  3. Reado

    Reado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks, just tried that, changed it to eth1 then tried arp -a again but both IPs were still using the same MAC.

    Under WHM > IP unctions > Show or Delete Current IP Addresses, it says 10.1.1.115 is assigned to eth1. I tried removing the IP via WHM but it says it failed to remove the IP address, even though no sites are using it?
     
  4. Reado

    Reado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I just tried removing eth1 from the VM and rebooting. After the reboot, cPanel said the following:

    Code:
    10.1.1.115 	eth0:cp1
    10.1.1.116 [Main Address]
    Main/shared IP for root 	eth0
    Is it normal for cPanel to re-assign IPs to another NIC if the other NIC is removed? Or is it likely that eth0:cp1 was always there?
     
Loading...

Share This Page