Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Secure SSH change Default port to an secured not listed in internet

Discussion in 'Security' started by Cloudtech, Nov 30, 2017.

  1. Cloudtech

    Cloudtech Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Iam not expert and I saw many tut in the forum but most of them having detailing for experts.

    As we don't know which port no is good and best for ssh and which was not listed in any other tuts. If the port number was added in any tuts the hackers have that number so changing it to that one will not help everyone because hacker will also set that port in their exploring software for port check so. Please help us on this We want a good and secret port no which others will not guess and even it was not added or listed in any tuts. As our new server is facing lost of Brute Force attack from china and other counties from the past 4 days. As we have enable CSF our emails are getting full because of notifying Brute Force attempt against “root”. So please help and tell us how to check available port and choose good port to replace the current default port no 22 . I believe it will also help beginners like us to do it very simply. Please don't share other tuts link saying refer this one will give you an idea how to do or something like that. So please help us very fast as we are facing this issue from the past days and we are afraid if the hackers break our server we will all our customer and our image so please help.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,782
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. Cloudtech

    Cloudtech Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    As the tuts you have shared with me that was not complete and I already seen it before placing this thread.

    As it was saying how to do but didn't saying VIM commands and how to all other . Another thing is it only saying

    to create a key pair and use that key pair to login each time better than that if we are using a password we can

    change it one in a month. I found a good tut which have everything it was mix of different websites thread look here

    Visit : - Removed -
     
    #3 Cloudtech, Dec 2, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 2, 2017
Loading...

Share This Page