Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

securetmp on centos 7 error

Discussion in 'Security' started by rhm.geerts, Apr 9, 2018.

  1. rhm.geerts

    rhm.geerts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Maastricht
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.
    I installed Cpanel on a Centos 7.4 server.

    Everthing went fine and looks working.
    Now I tried to secure my tmp partition and I get this error:

    I've found a couple of threads about this on the cpanel forums and it said try "modprobe loop" which doesn't give me any result:
    Code:
    root@srv ~ # modprobe loop
    root@srv ~ #
    How can I fix this?
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,


    Can you provide the output of /etc/fstab and can let us know if this is a vz or open vz server?

    Thank you,
     
  3. rhm.geerts

    rhm.geerts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Maastricht
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.
    I tried to make it a 10 GB /tmp but it looks like it only made 4 GB.
    Code:
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/md/0 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/md/1 /boot ext3 defaults 0 0
    /dev/md/2       /       ext4    usrjquota=quota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0        0       0
    /usr/tmpDSK             /tmp                    ext3    defaults,noauto        0 0
    This is my df -h output at the moment:
    Code:
    Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/md2        1.8T  6.4G  1.7T   1% /
    devtmpfs         16G     0   16G   0% /dev
    tmpfs            16G     0   16G   0% /dev/shm
    tmpfs            16G   17M   16G   1% /run
    tmpfs            16G     0   16G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
    /dev/md1        488M  184M  279M  40% /boot
    /dev/loop0      3.9G  8.4M  3.7G   1% /tmp
    tmpfs           3.2G     0  3.2G   0% /run/user/0
    The server is no VPS, it's a real dedicated server running Centos 7.4, no virtualization.
    Thank you.
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  5. rhm.geerts

    rhm.geerts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Maastricht
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oke thank you, but it's working correctly? I don't need to worry about the "loop module" not being detected notice?
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,


    It's there and seems to be configured correctly you can confirm this by running:

    losetup -f

    in this case it appears to be the second notice:

    If the loopback block device is built into the kernel itself, you can ignore this message.

    Thank you,
     
    rhm.geerts likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page