The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Securetmp

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Solokron, Aug 12, 2005.

  1. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I am curious if /scripts/securetmp is the best to use for securing tmp or if a manual method is more secure such as http://www.webhostgear.com/34.html etc. Any thoughts?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    They're as secure as each other.
     
  3. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    They're all doing the same thing. None are better or worse.
     
  5. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Has anyone tried the securetmp yet using logical volumes in RHEL4/centos4 ?

    I have thought about trying it but as this is a production server I really don't want to be the one to find out the hard way it doesn't work properly
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I have several times, it works no problem. The /tmp partition creation is independent of the FS that you use on your disk as it uses the loop device and tmpfs to mount the file as a file system.
     
  7. nzservers

    nzservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    any idea how to change the tmp size?
    I tried changing the value of my $tmpdsksize in the script but it still defaults to 262MB
     
  8. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    replace "256000" "512000" -- /scripts/securetmp

    Add it before your securetmp entry in your /etc/rc.d/rc.local as well

     
  9. ncconquer

    ncconquer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i same. Please anybody tell me how to change the tmp size?
     

Share This Page