The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seeing the website without /~username/

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ddgromit, Aug 26, 2004.

1. ddgromit

ddgromit Registered

I recently ordered this hosting plan, and it all works ok except in order to get to the web files I'm hosting (under the www directory on the server) you have to enter in http://<theip>/~ddgromit/ . Is it possible to set it so that everyone can see the web files by just entering in http://<theip>/ ?

Or do I need a subdomain, or to use domain forwarding or what?

Thanks for your help, I'm kind of new to all this!

~derek

2. sparek-3

sparek-3 Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will have to have a dedicated IP to accomplish this.

3. SarcNBit

SarcNBit Well-Known Member

It is very likely that your hosting plan is using a shared IP, therefore it is necessary to enter the account name to access your site. Some hosts do not even offer access (or only offer access on a temporary basis) via http://<IP>/~<ACCOUNT>/. In that case, you would only be able to access your account once the domain name (or domain name change) has propogated through the DNS system.

If you have the need for a dedicated IP based account, you should talk to your host.

4. mrbaseball34

mrbaseball34 Member

Get a domain name!!!

Do you have a domain where you have set DNS info to your new host?

5. ddgromit

ddgromit Registered

Thanks I understand it a bit better now. :)