v86.0.8

Geert81

Registered
Mar 2, 2020
!Super1981!
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hi,

I have full access to my VPS (Cpanel, WHM) but, I'm not experienced.
I've been using this VPS for a couple of months now. Email sent to [email protected] is sent to [email protected] elsewhere. This works well, except now that it failed twice for yahoo (when someone using a Yahoo email sent me an email). Here is the error:

1 - [email protected] ([email protected]) <[email protected]> R=send_to_smart_host T=remote_smtp H=removed.secureserver.net [an IP address from my hosting company]: SMTP error from remote mail server after end of data: 550 5.2.0 8QKpjcX2tPm3Q8QKpjddDP <[email protected]> sender rejected. This relay isn't allowed to send mail "From" yahoo.com

I have no idea what this error means and how I can prevent it. Because most emails have been passing fine for many months. When I look at the last couple of days I see a few similar errors from yahoo.com and aol.com

There is something I'm missing. I hope you can see what it is :)

Thank you!

cPanelLauren

Product Owner
Staff member
Nov 14, 2017
Houston
You may want to contact your provider to find out why this is occurring for your email to yahoo in this instance. It seems to be a misconfiguration on the smarthost - at least with the information I have that's what it looks like.

schm1eric

Registered
May 18, 2020
Minneapolis, MN
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Geert81, did you ever get this figured out? I am seeing the same thing one on of my domains -- I am trying to forward an email to another email address and if I send to it from a Yahoo email accoount, I get the "sender rejected. This relay isn't allowed to send mail "From" yahoo.com." However, if I send to this email forwarder from a Gmail account (or any of my other personal domains' emails) it appears to deliver without any issues. Thanks in advance.

Geert81

Registered
Mar 2, 2020
!Super1981!
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator