The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sending spam from my server

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by harmonia, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. harmonia

    harmonia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    i researched a lot, but i really don't know what can i do. someone is sending spam from my server. server is centos and cpanel installed on. Spamassasin is good, controling coming mails to server. but going out mails are big problem for me. nearly 75.000 mails in queue:( i tried to delete on WHM my server became down. i reboot it but the queue is still the same.
    How can i stop sending spam on my server?
     
  2. Zepplin

    Zepplin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is the spam coming from a script or an actual email address/webmail login?

    If it is from a script, then use EasyApache (WHM -> Software -> Apache Update) to set up SuExec and SuPHP (the latest replacement for phpSuExec). Then in Tweak Settings (WHM -> Server Configuration -> Tweak Settings) enable the following setting:

    Prevent the user "nobody" from sending out mail to remote addresses (PHP and CGI scripts generally run as nobody if you are not using PHPSuexec and Suexec respectively.)

    Then enable the SMTP Tweak in WHM -> Security -> Security Center -> SMTP Tweak
     
  4. harmonia

    harmonia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i customized apache configuration and started to build. but it displayed the error below :(
    i visited the cpanel link in error, but this error does not explain there.
    what is the problem and what can i do?

    Error: No Package Matching glibc.i686
    !! Could not ensure pkglist 'zlib1-devel, expat-devel, gettext, automake19, libstdc++.x86_64, libpng-devel, libopenssl0-dev, expat, openssl, gcc-c++, glibc-devel, libpng-dev, zlib-devel, zlib, bison, autoconf261, libidn-devel, gmake, libidn, libXpm, libjpeg-devel, openssl-devel, automake, coreutils, libtool-libltdl-devel, libopenssl0, openssl-dev, libtool, patch, libz-devel, libltdl3-devel, libltdl, libjpeg-dev, libopenssl0.9.7-static-devel, pam-dev, libtool-ltdl-devel, libopenssl0.9.7-devel, libltdl-devel, fileutils, libXpm-devel, sed, libXpm-dev, krb5-dev, flex, glibc-dev, expat-dev, krb5-devel, libstdc++-devel.x64_64, make, libstdc++-dev.x86_64, xorg-x11-devel, libssl-dev, libstdc++-devel.x86_64, gd, pam-devel, cpp, xorg-x11-dev, gcc, libopenssl0-devel, ssl-dev, lex, autoconf' !!
    !! Please visit http://www.cpanel.net/support/could_not_ensurepkgs.htm for help with this error. !!
    !! Restoring original working apache !!
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'd recommend submitting a support ticket directly to cPanel regarding this issue so our support staff can determine the cause of the malfunction.
     
  6. harmonia

    harmonia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes i wanted them to help, they said that is was a yum problem. i have to solve this problem myself:confused:

    exim queue was over 570000 yesterday, i tried to remove all messages in queue lots of times. now it is about 6000-7000 messages. it is increasing and there is still spam mails from fake accounts. is the problem with SMTP now? why it doesn't send?
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If yum is not functioning properly, you should try to get that functioning properly or hire a sysadmin who can.
     
  8. jmginer

    jmginer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Benifato, Spain
    I have the same problem, anybody is sending spam with my server :mad:
     
    #8 jmginer, Aug 18, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2008
  9. Mat-d-rat

    Mat-d-rat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    OK found 2 things
    1) My Mod_Security rules where blank?!!! I think this is my fault when I upgraded from apache 1.x to 2.x :(
    2) I've found a file on my server which is an exe (unix server) /usr/local/apache/htdocs/manual/mod/ver-32-xxxx.exe (xxx is just a big number), but mod security was picking up access to this.

    How do I get a direct IP request to be forwarded to a website? I have several sites on one IP but when you put just the IP in you get a congrats cpanel install.

    If your having issues with spam, #1 Stop the checkd services #2 stop the exim service #3 delete mail queue via whm. Then find out what is causing the problem (and restart exim/checksvd)
     
  10. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    If you are doing shared hosting, any account u create via root would point to the shared IP of the server.
    if you create the account from reseller account and reseller is customized to use a specific IP, sites would be hosted on that particular IP.
    In both cases the IP in use would show the default Apache message.

    You would need to allocate a dedicated IP to any domain you wish to have its own IP. However changing IP might take a little time to propogate so don't panic if site doesn't resolves for few hours.
     
Loading...

Share This Page