The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Separate queue for mail() e-mails

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by netlook, Feb 12, 2006.

  1. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    Does anybody have idea how to force separate queue for e-mail made by PHP mail() function on the server? It would be very helpful for customers who sends newsletters etc preventing of server overload. For example, the queue would be run every 1 minute to send 10 e-mail from it?

    Thanks
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    What about writing the script to send in batches?
     
  3. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have over 200 clients on every server, so I can't tell everyone to write such script. I want to solve this situation on the server, not client, side.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I'm not aware of any (simply) way to do that with exim. You could have a trawl of the site at www.exim.org. An alternative would be to set those domains to only queue email instead of delivering it at once. That way it will be sent in batches on the next queue run.
     
  5. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds better :cool: But how to set exim to put mail() e-mails in queue, if each user can set From: header to their domain, not server hostname?

    Any idea :confused:
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, exim knows nothing at all about the php mail() function. However, what you could do is have the hostname set to queue_domains which may well work for what you want. So, in the first textarea of the Exim Configuration Editor in WHM add:

    queue_domains = server.hostname.com

    Replacing server.hostname.com with your servers FQDN hostname. Try it and see if it does queue rather than send immediately.
     
  7. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks, I will try.
     
Loading...

Share This Page