The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seperate Mail Server?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Filmscape, May 3, 2004.

  1. Filmscape

    Filmscape Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Is it possible to set-up cPanel to use a seperate server for mail?

    For example, lets say I was creating the domain account for www.mydomain.com. Normally cPanel will setup the SMTP and POP3 servers for this domain as mail.mydomain.com, on the same server that the domain accouint has been created.

    Is it possible for cPanel to connect to a different server and set-up the SMTP and POP3 services for the domain there? I would imagine all MX records will need to point to this seperate server as well.

    Thanks,
    Andy
     
  2. wipl_piyush

    wipl_piyush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY
    Hello -

    In my suggestion you can do it just by pointing the MX record of the server to the other Email Server IP.

    Other way is that you can change the MX record for particular accounts as well...
     
  3. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just queried my DC on the exact same issue. They never replied to it though so they lost the opportunity to lease a Server to me for that purpose.

    You see, having a seperate Server and manually changing the MX entries is not the problem. The problem is to somehow, have it setup to automatically input the correct MX entries and Server IPs. Otherwise, it becomes somewhat of a Support nightmare as everytime an account is Created/Terminated the changes must be done manually.
     
  4. Filmscape

    Filmscape Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does cPanel have the ability to manage a second server designed for email use and perform these tasks automatically?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, you can modify the DNS templates in WHM now, so changing the MX records shouldn't be too much of an issue for new domains.

    However, I cannot see how you could accomplish having the SMTP and POP3 daemons and accounts running on a different server without some serious scripting. Ideally, you want something akin to the DNS clustering.
     
  6. wipl_piyush

    wipl_piyush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY
    In my suggestion creating the "mail.domain.com" account on the second mail server with the DNS running on the Primary or first server will help you out.

    Its just like a forwarding.
     
  7. dejavu11

    dejavu11 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    its not an issue of poiting mail.domain.com to the other server, its the issue of a person creating an e-mail account on CPanel under their username and it being created on the hosting server, not the mail server
     
  8. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Anyone come up with thoughts on this?
     
  9. GeekPatrolMille

    GeekPatrolMille Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    McKinney, Texas, USA
    I posted a similar question with my DNS configs and it works except for the small issue which is why I posted in the first place... If this helps you, maybe you have some info that may help me too...

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=34312

    -greg
     
Loading...

Share This Page