The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Serious dns issue - your help appreciated.

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by EMS, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. EMS

    EMS BANNED

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok heres the problem...

    On one of our servers I have some customers who's domains are not showing up.

    On inspecting the zone file I see this...

    domain.com. root IN NS ns1.nameserver.com.
    domain.com. root IN NS ns2.nameserver.com.

    Obviousley the word "root" shouldnt be there! How did it get there ?

    So If I edit the zone file in WHM - this shows up an error and lets me change it - then sends the changes up to the clustered nameservers and the problem is fixed. sort of...

    it now displays this...

    Domain.com. 86400 IN NS ns1.nameserver.com.

    Why is 86400 there now ? this is the minimum ttl setting. Should this be here ? its not on any of the other servers.


    I need to search all the zone files for the word "root" and remove this. Can anyone help with that ? Do I need a script ? I have no idea how many files are affected.

    Any ideas how this happened ? I will have to check all our servers to make sure this isnt a massive problem - we have 20!

    Any advice greatly appreciated!
     
    #1 EMS, Dec 15, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2005
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Without looking into your server, it is really hard to say how the word "root" got in the DNS zones.

    You don't need a script, necessarily. One of the commands to use in this case is: grep in conjunction with find and replace to check on the DNS zones and report/edit the text there.
     
  3. EMS

    EMS BANNED

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its obviousley some corruption, strange how its affected a number of zone files in the same way.

    I want to find / replace in one go - I dont have time to use grep and do this manually on all 20 servers.

    Can anyone comment on the ttl value being inserted ? Is this due to differences in versions of bind ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page