The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server auto reboot when somebody FTP :(

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jedia, Apr 13, 2004.

  1. Jedia

    Jedia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CN
    hi, my server auto reboot when username:xdiy ftpd, please gave some help:(
    Code:
    %last
    jedia            ttyp0    219.144.244.186  Tue Apr 13 21:15   still logged in
    reboot           ~                         Tue Apr 13 21:14
    xdiy             ftp      219.144.244.186  Tue Apr 13 20:37 - 20:44  (00:06)
    
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I doubt that the ftp would cause the server itself to just reboot. Have you checked the error log to see what is reported right before the server crashes? You might also try running "top" and have that user login, see if crashes right away or if some process (like the ftp) runs out of control.
     
  3. Jedia

    Jedia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CN
    thx man, trying
     
  4. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    i also had an unexplained reboot on a cpanel server this afternoon.. can't figure out why, no one was logged in via ssh...
     
  5. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is your data center running battery backup and generators? They could have had a power problem?
     
  6. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    yes, i figured out that my reboot was a datacenter issue..
     
  7. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I remember the old days (before Al Gore invented the internet;)....

    The first question I would always ask when a customer called with a support issue was .... "Is your computer plugged in?" Believe it or not, this usually fixed over half of the support callls:)
     
  8. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    yea i hear you bamasbeast. my logs showed that the server actually cleanly shutdown - the power didnt go out.
     
  9. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Maybe their power dropped, ups kicked in and then ordered a reboot when gennies took over?
     
Loading...

Share This Page