The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server compromised. Need WHM backup for server reinstall

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Nizzo, Dec 30, 2016.

  1. Nizzo

    Nizzo Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Switzerland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello all,

    Long time reader for solutions, first time poster.

    I've been running a WHM server for a couple of websites for few years now, unfortunately the server got compromised through a Kernel exploit because i failed to update it.

    I managed to track the user (i think) but regardless, i took the server offline as of couple of hours ago and planning to reinstall the OS.

    Before i do that i was wondering how I can do a full backup of WHM settings so when i reinstall it i dont have to reconfigure the whole thing and set it back the way it was before?

    Any advice is appreciated.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. Dave Smith

    Dave Smith Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Lisbon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Nizzo,
    You could try having a look through the documentation (Version 60 but other documentation is available for other Versions) which may help you.
     
  3. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  4. Nizzo

    Nizzo Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Switzerland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the reply Dave Smith.

    Yea, thats what i found out. But still searching on how to do that to be honest. Cant find proper documentation or something like that on how to properly do it.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,629
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Backups are not enabled on your server? Settings for Backups are located here:
    WebHost Manager »Backup »Backup Configuration

    Docs for all this is located here:
    Backup Configuration - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    You will need to reconfigure your server from the top. Depending on your backup settings you could be backing up system files, but they'll need to be restored manually.

    Setting up a new server and restoring account backups to it from the old server might be easier.
     
Loading...

Share This Page