The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

server cpu overload HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by soporte, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. soporte

    soporte Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    my server is sending me this email: at the end of the message is the top process... can any body helpme?


    ////////////////////////////

    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    This is cPanel cpuwatch on servidor.lashosting.com!
    While processing, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more than a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    07:37:56 up 1 day, 23:21, 0 users, load average: 3.74, 4.75, 5.77
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load. If you want stats to continue to run even with a high load; Edit
    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and change extracpus to a number larger then 0 (run
    /usr/local/cpanel/startup afterwards to pickup the changes).

    ///////////////////////////////////////

    SSH TOP PROCESS:

    top - 07:48:32 up 1 day, 23:32, 1 user, load average: 3.71, 4.59, 5.24
    Tasks: 492 total, 3 running, 485 sleeping, 4 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 54.0%us, 1.0%sy, 0.0%ni, 0.0%id, 44.9%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.2%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 3339900k total, 3328192k used, 11708k free, 3744k buffers
    Swap: 4192956k total, 1311392k used, 2881564k free, 445308k cached

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    14819 cpanelro 25 0 117m 4588 4300 R 100.1 0.1 1242:52 php-cgi
    3747 mysql 15 0 394m 41m 4052 S 7.0 1.3 1997:49 mysqld
    27455 lacimarr 16 0 128m 24m 6360 D 1.7 0.8 0:00.15 php
    223 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.3 0.0 2:44.93 kswapd0
    27263 root 15 0 13008 1464 848 R 0.3 0.0 0:00.66 top
    1 root 15 0 10352 640 608 S 0.0 0.0 0:03.11 init
    2 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:01.10 migration/0
    3 root 34 19 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.45 ksoftirqd/0
    4 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 watchdog/0
    5 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/1
    6 root 34 19 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.31 ksoftirqd/1
    7 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 watchdog/1
    8 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.03 events/0
    9 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.04 events/1
    10 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 khelper
     
  2. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have this on a fairly regular basis, too. Usually, I'll log in via SSH, then type:

    top -c

    This will update every few seconds to constantly show you what's running, and how much memory it's taking.

    Use this in conjunction with WHM's "Apache Status" and "Service Status" so that you can see exactly what's causing the load. Once you find it, it's up to you on how to handle it; sometimes, a cPanel forced update is required (if the resource hog is spamassassin or a cpanel script), but more often than not it's a hacker attack on a script.

    If it looks like a hacker trying to utilize a script, you can block them with your firewall. If you don't have one, check out CSF; it's a great freebie.

    If everything looks OK, then it might be time for a server upgrade. Been there, done that, and really feel for you if that's the case! I crossed that bridge about 2 years ago; it hurt, but it worked out well in the end.
     
  3. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm having this thread notify me with replies, so if you need more help, post it here and I'll help if I can. I'm certainly not a pro, but I was where you are not too long ago.
     
  4. hiben

    hiben Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the top-c tip. Didn't know that one.
     
  5. pascalfringe

    pascalfringe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Load averages are the averages calculated over a period of
    1min | 5 min | 15 min
     
  6. Jackster

    Jackster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Also what is your system's CPU speed?

    Make sure it is more than the minimum needed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page