The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SERVER CRASH: configure backup....suggestions?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by I Love Jesus, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. I Love Jesus

    I Love Jesus AKA chadi

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Three times in the last 2 months my server crashed (or locked up) during backups. I have my settings below. Any help to prevent this from happneing is appreciated.


    Backup Status: enabled
    Backup Interval: daily
    Backup Retention: daily
    Days to run backup: (all 7 days)
    Remount/Unmount backup drive: disabled
    Bail out if the backup drive cannot be mounted: disabled
    Incremental backup: disabled
    Backup Accounts: enabled
    Backup Config Files: enabled
    Sql Databases: per accounts and entire mysql database
    Backup Raw Access Logs: disabled
    Backup Type: standard
    Ftp Backup Host (Remote Ftp Backup Only) = empty
    Ftp Backup User (Remote Ftp Backup Only) = empty
    Ftp Backup Pass (Remote Ftp Backup Only) = empty
    Ftp Backup Directory/Path = empty
    Use Passive mode for Ftp transfers: enabled

    Specs:
    Pentium IV 2.4GHz
    1GB RAM
    Enterprise 3.3
    cPanel 9.9.9 R-10

    Disk usage:
    /dev/hda3 (primary) 11GB (17%)
    /dev/hdc1 (backup) 17GB (24%)

    I don't understand how the backup has more space used than primary. Anyone can explain this? Thanks.
     
  2. I Love Jesus

    I Love Jesus AKA chadi

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm desperate for help, the night is close for the usual daily backup and I do not want my server to crash again :(

    Someone please help.
     
  3. racomnet

    racomnet BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think

    I think you server crash because of high load of cpu
    Try to change this value to enable
    Incremental backup: disabled

    If you set daily backup then in /backup/ you have daily, monthly, weekly and that why is more space ocupied on hdd.
    Try this
    SSH to your server :
    top to see what is eating you cpu. If it is cpbackup
    then to that
    lsof |grep back
    kill -9 pid of what is listen then
    ps -aux|grep pk
    and kill -9 the procese listen there. Should be someting like this: pkgacct
    Right now the backup procces is stoped.
    Ps: Do this on your risk.
    I have almost the same problem. Now I don't know how to start backup. To work with incremental. I will wait one more night to see what is happening.
    Hope this will help u a little.
     
  4. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Make sure you are running the latest linux kernal... I was having a similar problem from excessive IOwaits that turned out to be a buggy kernal issue. The account package script is extremely disk intensive.

    The latest kernel for RHE 3 is 2.4.21-20.
     
  5. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually, the latest standard kernel for RHEL is 2.4.21-20.0.1
     
  6. alexisb

    alexisb Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Problems with backup and cpu load

    Hi, I am also getting high cpu loads with backup, I put:

    Backup Status: disabled

    in WHM, but I am still seeing:

    12171 root 39 19 584 524 504 R N 99.9 0.0 689:09 0 tar cfzp /backup/cpbackup/daily/dirs/_var_named.tar.gz /var/named
    12165 root 39 19 576 520 504 R N 99.6 0.0 689:41 0 tar cfzp /backup/cpbackup/daily/dirs/_etc_proftpd.tar.gz /etc/pro

    in top.

    It seems WHM is not using my configuration, how do I activate my changes for backup configuration?

    Thanks!
     
  7. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am having the same issue. Playing with the following setting in tweak settings did help in the past, but now the issues are back:

    The load average above the number of cpus at which logs file processing should be suspended (default 0):

    Any help would be appreciated. Tonight my server already crashed after creating the files directory.
     
Loading...

Share This Page