The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server Failover

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mathewbuer, Jun 11, 2015.

  1. mathewbuer

    mathewbuer Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ive been looking at failover measures, we host all of our own servers in our office as we have high speed fibre and dedicated ip addresses.

    however last week we had an outage, if i were to rent some dedi is there a way i could setup a failover ? ive been looking at the dnsmadeeasy website,

    has anyone used them before ?
    has anyone got a better solution for me ?

    the failover servers will be hosted in another data centre.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Are you attempting to add redundancy to a specific service such as DNS, or are you looking for an overall package (e.g. Apache, Exim, etc)?

    Thank you.
     
  3. mathewbuer

    mathewbuer Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    im looking for a replica server to step in when the main server fails
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    cPanel currently supports clustering for DNS purposes only. There is support to host your databases on a remote MySQL server, however beyond that, there are no native options that allow for management of services across multiple servers. I recommend searching our forums for "mirroring" and "high availability" for custom solutions that other users may have implemented. There are lots of discussions about the best ways to do this. Also, feel free to add your input to the following active feature request:

    Active Redundancy or High Availability

    Thank you.
     
  5. pacwebhosting

    pacwebhosting Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi

    Sounds like a cloud server with failover would suit your requirements.

    What happens in this environment is you have "Host" servers which surprisingly enough host cloud servers!

    In this environment if a "Host" fails the cloud automatically detect this and spins up your cloud server on another "Host" in the cloud and it carries on where it left off.

    Thanks

    Paul
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    been using them with dns failover for quite some time
    as well as our IPV6 reverse DNS have never had an issue with them
     
  7. mathewbuer

    mathewbuer Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thanks guys for the response's.

    if I wanted to go down the cloud route. I've got my own servers but is there specific software id need to use to do this ?

    I'm still looking at the DNSMadeEasy option.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's likely a good idea to consult with individual providers to see how their failover solutions work. This would be third-party software, as cPanel does not support this with any included options.

    Thank you.
     
  9. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    as Michael pointed out cpanel does not natively support this so its going to be a custom setup
    and will likely not protect you from a Network failure which is what you are looking for.
     
Loading...

Share This Page