The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server has disappeared... kind of.... maybe....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by schwim, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey there guys,

    Got a notice today from a monitoring service that one of my servers was unreachable. I ran a traceroute and ping, and the domain was resolving to the proper IP, but I couldn't get to it via the browser. I tried another ISP and got the same result. I could get to another domain on this server.

    As I worked on it, things began to change. First, I couldn't get to the second domain that I was trying. then, when rerunning the traceroute, I got "Lookup Failed. No IP address or host name with a valid lookup in input." as a response. Ping still comes back ok.

    This has all happened in the span of 10 minutes. Shell doesn't work.

    I'm not sure how to go about troubleshooting this. Usually, it's a work/don't work type of deal. I've never had it systematically shut down sites on the way towards the light :)

    thanks,
    json
     
  2. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    sounds like a named issue where some sites have stale DNS zones good enough and others don't query for you. can you get to everything via IP address directly?
     
  3. c0mr4de

    c0mr4de Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you can't, just get your Server host to reboot your server (Most probely a Crash)
     
  4. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
  5. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there guys,

    sorry for my lack of response, as I was busier than a one armed paper hanger :)

    I had the server rebooted, and it's running again. Once I got my email working, I found this:

    Load report

    Holy cow, look at the load average!

    I have to say however, that I can't see the problematic process.

    Does anyone see what I'm missing? And if so, is it just one of those things that happens sometimes, or do I need to look further into this?

    Also, I couldn't get to it via IP or anything else, after the first few minutes. It was like an anvil.

    thanks,
    json
     
  6. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York

    Is the load still high?. Can you get into WHM and see the apache status, thats a quick way to see whats getting hammered.
     
  7. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there Jimbo,

    No, it's looking pretty good right now:

    thanks,
    json
     
Loading...

Share This Page