The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server hostname changed.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hyper - Frag, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. Hyper - Frag

    Hyper - Frag Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We recently changed the server hostname from server.multipul-hosting.net to server.multiple-hosting.net. Everything was going fine until a few of our customers said that they were unable to access their webpages or use the ftp or access their emails through outlook express or microsoft outlook. We do not want to change the hostname back but we need to help sort their computers out. How can we go about doing this? One customer used a tcpip view programme and his microsoft outlook is still trying to use server.multipul-hosting.net
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ask your customers to use the ip address instead of the server name. this is the easiest and the safest method.
     
  3. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If both domains are still resolveable, ie have dns zones and still registered, you could just add a CNAME record, so that the old URL will resolve to the server.

    multipul-hosting.net dns zone

    server IN CNAME server.multiple-hosting.net.

    Your clients shouldn't need to change anything in that case.

    Actually, as long as your original domain resolves to an IP on that server, your clients shouldn't have any problems accessing, you don't have to use the server hostname to resolve to the mail server or other services, as long as they resolve to the correct IP, you should be fine.
     
    #3 DigitalN, Mar 30, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page