The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server keeps freezing up

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tom11011, May 29, 2009.

  1. tom11011

    tom11011 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Like clockwork, about every 2 or 3 days now my cpanel server keeps freezing up. The symptoms are always the same.

    When the server freezes, you can ping it. But, you cannot get a local console screen or a ssh console. The server does not serve up any webpages. The last thing to be recorded on the console is swap space is filled up 100%. Also, remote tools indicate cpu is 100% during the freeze up.

    Can anyone assist me in troubleshooting this?
     
  2. cteinternet

    cteinternet Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How is your CPU? Please, describe it. RAM, processor, disk, etc. Which version of cPanel?

    Cheers
     
  3. tom11011

    tom11011 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, it is the latest cPanel 11.24.4-S36281 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9

    running on centos 5.3 inside of an esx server. The other virtual machines are unaffected.

    Memory is 2gigs dedicated and cpu is a single quad core intel 2.0 ghz cpu.

    esx server is configured with 6-144 gig drives in a raid 5. 10k rpm.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It may be useful to monitor what processes are running on the server so you can determine what is causing the server to use 100% of available CPU and thus hang.
     
  5. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would leave a top opened up sorted by M (memory) and see where all the swap is. Yes if you fill up all of the swap it is very easy to kill a machine.

    To fix it, aside from fixing the software problem, you could assign more RAM, or make the swap larger by adding another partition OR mounting a loop file as swap.
     
  6. PlatinumServerM

    PlatinumServerM Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try setting up a snapshot log to capture the load/swap/memory/processes every minute and then you can check it after the reboot to see what was going on immediately before the reboot.
     
  7. nicks

    nicks Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem

    FreeBSD 7.1 on ESX 3.5

    10ghz and 4 gigs of ram for this freebsd.

    What I notice is that the server is bassicly frozen. even the clock freezes so when it unfreezes the time is wrong.

    I have a top open when it happens and it doesnt update until it unfreezes and nothing shows out of the normal other than people trying to download their emails.

    I dont know if the other poster has to reboot but I do not. it lasts for about 5 mins.
     
  8. cluepatel

    cluepatel Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    if clock also resets... means its hardware problem mate...
     
  9. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Time for a new server! You got hardware issues!
     
Loading...

Share This Page