The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server lags

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cyon, Aug 25, 2003.

  1. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi,

    from time to time my server goes very laggy.. it takes a couple of minutes to show up a website and outlook gives an error because the request timed out.
    also putty is slow as f***.

    The command top doesn't give usefull information. It shows a low CPU and Memory usage.

    I guess that the stats uses a lot of ressources.

    I have a PIII 1 GHz with 256 MB Memory and about 300 accounts on it.
    Is that too much?

    What steps can I do to save ressources?
    Could it be that the creation of the stats eat up all the ressources?? I guess the new bandwith usage stats are based on mrtg.. is it possible to deactivate them?
    Is there a possibility to run all the stats in the night?

    Thanks in advance for some tips.

    Dave.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 cyon, Aug 25, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2003
  2. N9ne

    N9ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    England
    You've overloaded your server. 300 accounts on a P3 1GHz with only 256MB RAM is no good, you'd need at least a P4 2.0GHz w/ 1GB RAM for it to operate well with 300 accounts.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wow, what a quick answer ;)

    what do you think is the limit for this machine with 1 ghz and 256 ram? I'll update on 512 mb ram. Will that increase the limit?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. rhood

    rhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Assuming most of them are average accounts, you should be fine on a 1GHz P3, assuming you get more memory -- 256MB is not enough.

    I recommend upgrading to at least 512MB.

    That should keep you running smoothly with 300 accounts. You should consider getting a new server after that however, instead of adding more accounts and running into the same problem again.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yup, I'll install more memory.

    Does anybody know how to disable the graphical bandwith stats in the customers cPanel?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You may want to go in the WHM "Tweak Settings" and disable awstats if it's enabled. I've heard frequently that it's a processor intense function.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. raventec

    raventec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It depends on what the sites are doing whether it's taxing to the server or not. You can have oodles of light usage static HTML sites and your server not break a sweat.
    Definitely go with more RAM cyon... It can't hurt :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page