The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server load - 230 (!!!!!)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cosmin, May 15, 2003.

  1. cosmin

    cosmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucuresti
    I have a strange problem. Sunday my server software was reinstalled. Monday server have more 200 server load and yesterday again.

    It's a hardware problem? A normal server have a 30-60 days uptime not 24 hours...

    Anyone can help me?

    Thanks!
     
  2. carlgm

    carlgm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England, UK
    Hello,

    Can you login to SSH as 'root' and type:

    top

    please copy and paste that please firstly. :)
     
  3. cosmin

    cosmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucuresti
    3:14pm up 20:08, 1 user, load average: 0.34, 0.17, 0.16
    155 processes: 154 sleeping, 1 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: 5.8% user, 1.9% system, 0.3% nice, 32.6% idle
    Mem: 1016368K av, 1002068K used, 14300K free, 0K shrd, 204504K buff
    Swap: 522072K av, 3640K used, 518432K free 547720K cached

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND
    6997 root 16 0 1080 1080 824 R 7.3 0.1 0:00 top
    7000 evrika 14 0 3480 3212 2412 S 1.8 0.3 0:00 cppop
    5444 nobody 10 0 8120 8120 6432 S 0.9 0.7 0:00 httpd
    5447 nobody 10 0 8156 8156 6440 S 0.9 0.8 0:00 httpd
    6818 nobody 9 0 7176 7176 6452 S 0.9 0.7 0:00 httpd
    1 root 0 0 480 480 416 S 0.0 0.0 0:04 init
    2 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 keventd
    3 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kapmd
    4 root 19 19 0 0 0 SWN 0.0 0.0 0:00 ksoftirqd_CPU0
    5 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:06 kswapd
    6 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 bdflush
    7 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kupdated
    9 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 khubd
    10 root -1 -20 0 0 0 SW< 0.0 0.0 0:00 mdrecoveryd
    11 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kjournald
    145 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kjournald
    146 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:02 kjournald







    Now I have Server Load 0.xx...
     
  4. carlgm

    carlgm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England, UK
    That looks 'okay' although not that good. As far as loads. Just monitor the loads when you get a chance.
     
  5. Creazioni

    Creazioni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    load average: 248.66, 206.62, 123.73

    HOW IS POSSIBLE that i've a load so BIG

    i can't enter into ssh therefore i can't reboot and control why this big problem (now load is 700)

    There is a way to restart apache or stop apache if load is over 10?
    or a script send email if load is so high??


    THANKS
     
  6. mitul

    mitul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What software where installed on server?

    use 'ps -aux' & 'pstree' to see the the running process. 'Top' will increase the load on the server.

    Don't logout from the server to see the running process when the server load increases.

    Are you using tomcat on the server?
     
  7. Creazioni

    Creazioni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    TOMCAT= no...i don't like it

    i open ssh and i looked load so high
    top and ps-aux did not running (so much load)

    now NOC reboot server, i would like KNOW the problem, who or what go so high LOAD

    now i go bad for 1 hour and then i work on it:(

    thanks
     
  8. cosmin

    cosmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucuresti
    NOC Support:
    "The problem is not with the hardware -- the machine appears to be hacked with trojaned binaries (md5sum for the bins are different than what they are on the stock cd). "

    I don't think so becouse my server was reinstalled last Sunday...

    Any ideea?
     
  9. wreak

    wreak Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    But where I can find md5sum`s for binaries in cpanel ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page