The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server Load average high!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bymarchi, Jul 4, 2005.

  1. bymarchi

    bymarchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Jupter Planet
    Hi,
    The last days my server have high server load.
    Every time that apache or php script is running the sever load is high.
    The processes that leave my server load very high is PHP scripts and Apache.
    /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL
    and
    0 php name_of_file.php

    I already recompile Apache, update PHP to 4.3.11 and not working correctlly.
    I already intalled eAccelerator, but this extension not work too. I already enable gzip and disable but nothing!
    Always Caching Enable is "false" in eAccelerator. And I don´t know change to "true" and work that.

    My server is:
    P4 2.4Ghz
    1 GB RAM
    120 HDD

    And actually I´ve 105 domains hosted im my server.

    Please, somebody can help me? I just search in the internet but not success.
    I am crazy because that!

    Thanks.
     
  2. asmar

    asmar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had similar issues in the past.
    One of the problem was some old phpbb forums, check them and try to upgrade all of them to the latest one.

    Apart from that try to install a few of the rxfnetworks scripts, they are great in most of the times.

    Also you can make /tmp read only.

    How high is the load?
     
  3. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Hight load can be a result of UDP/TCP/DOS attack, insecure php/cgi script, or kernel gone crazy. You should either patch or upgrade PhpBB, PhpNuke, check out osCommerce, and esupport programs to the latest release. See if there are personal cgi/php scripts written by clients and ask them to secure their scripts. Clean up and secure your server before it's too late.
     
  4. bymarchi

    bymarchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Jupter Planet
    I just check this php script and my customers not use PHPBB and others CMS.
    I just update security patches. I have installed APF and BFD, but the server load stay all day in 1.xx and 2.xx.
    And my customers when see the red status os server load stay crazy!
     
  5. asmar

    asmar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I thought you are talking for load between 10 and more....
    However you can change the alert red button in cpanel under its settings somewhere.

    Regarding the load, how many sites you have hosted in this server?
    I have 3 sites in one server and some times the load goes 3-4 for several minutes because of a large mailing list (2500+ accounts).

    Check if you have something like that as well.
     
  6. bymarchi

    bymarchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Jupter Planet
    Asmar,
    In this server I have 105 sites hosted.
    How I change the limit of red status of server load in cPanel? And what the limit right for this, but when my server load stay up 1.XX the status is red.
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    whm
    tweek settings
    status
    change the value in the text box for
    The load average that will cause the server status to appear red (leave blank for default):
     
  8. bymarchi

    bymarchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Jupter Planet
    Thanks dalem,
    But in your opnion what the value remomended?

    My server is: P42.8 / 1GB RAM.

    Thanks for all.
     
  9. zayn

    zayn Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have 3 servers, and 2 of them has 800 accounts and more, and it runs perfect. Sometimes the index load is gone crazy to 30 or 50 even more, but after erstarting some service like spamd and httpd, it started normally again.

    Currently the 'sane index load' is 10, above that, we are aware that server will gone crazy :D. So if you have index load 1.xx or 2.xx, it's OK IMO
     
  10. bymarchi

    bymarchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Jupter Planet
    ok zayn! Thanks! :D
     
  11. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    for a p4 2 would be good (this will change your back up load) but thats etirely up to you and how your system runs. its a silly green light you should not be monitoring your server this way :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page