The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server Load hovering between 3-3.5?!?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jsteel, Sep 4, 2002.

  1. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I've checked all of the obvious things and can't explain why my server load is hovering between 3 - 3.5. I'm showing the CPU is idle about 91%. Memory is only 17% used. TOP isn't showing any processes that seem abnormal. Email is normal.

    This started sometime this morning. I've restarted both apache and proftpd; it had no impact.

    Anyone?
     
  2. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I've now restarted EVERY service running through WHM and it is still the same. I don't want to reboot the server since it is the middle of the day now and the simple fact that performance seems fine on the box. I'd just love to know where to look to find out why the load is showing such a high value (and I'm not a newbie to linux).

    Jaz
     
  3. ecoutez

    ecoutez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you try 'top' from the shell?

    - Jason
     
  4. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Yes. I mentioned that in the first post.
     
  5. ecoutez

    ecoutez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aah, sorry. Strange. Partitions look okay? A bad drive could cause a high server load when it fails to respond while attempting to write logs, but that would probably go much higher... like 30-300 not just 3-3.5.

    Good luck,
    Jason
     
  6. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Everything looks fine. I've checked over a dozen different system logs as well as many user logs. I'm baffled by this. It would seem that there is a queue of processes getting generated causing the Server Load value to go up, but I'm not seeing any (the backup is idle as are stats).

    Bizarre. Guess I'll just have to wait until tonight and do a graceful reboot.

    Jaz
     
  7. MrHits

    MrHits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'd run /scripts/hackcheck to make sure you have not been rooted.

    Hackers can hide from you in top and ps -edf
     
Loading...

Share This Page