The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server load jumping up..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SHSaeed, Jul 7, 2002.

  1. SHSaeed

    SHSaeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I'm wondering if there is any way to know what causes a high server load? Our server load is normally 0.00 but at times it jumps up to 0.30-0.50 and just when I do 'top' to see what is causing it it starts to go down. Is there anyway to know what script/program is causing these and what user they belong to?
     
  2. Elena

    Elena Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    It could be the cpanel stats program running.. or if you have a backup utility script in place.. while backups are being performed the load will usually increase. Same goes for cpanel nighly upgrade.. the load will jump up for a while and then go back to normal. happens on my server every night at 11pm :\
     
  3. SHSaeed

    SHSaeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's not that. The backup and log updates run once a day at night, this is caused by something else.
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you checked this out in your WHManager?

    Cpu/Memory/Mysql Usage History


    (do a search in the left frame for &CPU& and you should find it pretty quick)

    It's definitely a good place to start in your predicament, if you aren't too familiar with the linux OS from a shell standpoint.
     
  5. SHSaeed

    SHSaeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've already checked all these places.. These loads usually only last a couple of seconds so it's really hard to catch them in action. I thought there was another better way to keep a log of all high CPU/Disk usage tasks..
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok.....
    so you are concerned about your server not being at 0.00 for a load average?

    keeping a shared hosting linux server at 0.00 as you pile accounts on it is, needless to say, an impossibility. If you want to keep things at 0.00, then you cannot allow CGI, period. You also cannot allow mysql transactions. You can allow static HTML, period.

    The general rule here for a machine with 400-600 shared linux accounts, regardless of package type- would be something like:

    0.00 - 0.50 = must be a slow weekend or christmas
    0.50 - 1.00 = what we'd expect during normal business days.
    1.00 - 1.50 = a fairly busy afternoon/evening on a weeknight.
    1.50 - 2.00 = busy day on a normally busy box, not abnormal
    2.00 - 2.50 = perhaps a bit TOO busy, check for abusive users
    2.50 - 3.00 = slowly losing control of your box
    3.00 - 3.50 = time to spend 30 minutes to an hour to assess what is causing your machine to turn to sludge
    3.50+ = apache will be sluggish for most users, as will email..... time to evacuate people or pinpoint the abusers immediately.

    I hope this helps and makes some sense.......
    If not let me know.

    I'm sure I will be corrected by an onslaught of viewers as time progresses. Load averages on linux lack a solid technical explanation though there are variety of 'rants' on the subject if you search long and hard enough.

    Mostly it's just a guide for admins to use as they gain experience.
     
  7. Elena

    Elena Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    During the day you should see loads shift constantly.. right now my box is at 0.31 - still running fast so I see no need to really check it out. Basically the only time I really do check is when I see memory is being drained really rapidly or the load remains high for an unusual amount of time, which means something is on the loose and isn't going to stop unless I stop it. Otherwise you'll just see that happen from time to time.

    Looking right now, my load is now at 0.05 - late at night so not that bad... during the day it goes to 0.80-0.90 every now and then, considering there are about 35+ blog scripts and a hella lot more forums running around on the server that's lots of cgi/mysql -- thank god they aren't all running at once. LOL
     
  8. dominet

    dominet Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    is it possible to make some &tunnings& to apache to reduce load?
     
  9. Curt

    Curt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I recently had the same problem and it seemed to start just after I did the latest cpanel update to Cpanel 4.9.0-11
    manually.

    My server rarely gets above .05 and I was seeing regular bursts of .45 for several hours and top was not showing anything strange. I did a reboot and I am back to running between .00 and .05.

    Something was hitting the CPU but it was not showing up in TOP. The reboot seemed to clear it up. I really hate not knowing what was causing the load.
     
  10. Curt

    Curt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I recently had the same problem and it seemed to start just after I did the latest cpanel update to Cpanel 4.9.0-11 manually.

    My server rarely gets above .05 and I was seeing regular bursts of .65 for several hours and top was not showing anything strange. I did a reboot and I am back to running between .00 and .05.

    Something was hitting the CPU but it was not showing up in TOP. The reboot seemed to clear it up. I really hate not knowing what was causing the load.
     
  11. Curt

    Curt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I recently had the same problem and it seemed to start just after I did the latest cpanel update to Cpanel 4.9.0-11
    manually.

    My server rarely gets above .05 and I was seeing regular bursts of .45 for several hours and top was not showing anything strange. I did a reboot and I am back to running between .00 and .05.

    Something was hitting the CPU but it was not showing up in TOP. The reboot seemed to clear it up. I really hate not knowing what was causing the load.
     
  12. Curt

    Curt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I recently had the same problem and it seemed to start just after I did the latest cpanel update to Cpanel 4.9.0-11 manually.

    My server rarely gets above .05 and I was seeing regular bursts of .45 for several hours and top was not showing anything strange. I did a reboot and I am back to running between .00 and .05.

    Something was hitting the CPU but it was not showing up in TOP. The reboot seemed to clear it up. I really hate not knowing what was causing the load.
     
  13. SHSaeed

    SHSaeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you fall asleep on the submit button or something?
    LOL :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page