The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server Load More Than 200 :((

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Baris, Jun 23, 2006.

  1. Baris

    Baris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have a dedicated server with WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-R119 CentOS 4.3 i686 - WHM X 3.1.0

    It has a P4 3.0 GHZ Dual Core CPU and 1 GB DDR RAM.

    Everything is good with the server.When the server load is low,it works really fast.But sometimes (nearly 10-15 times a day) server load goes too high.

    I saw nearly 240 yesterday.But generally it goes up to 60.And it makes the sites down.

    When this happen i stop apache via SSH then wait some minutes.This makes the server load down.

    What do you advise me to do?I am about to loose my customers and this makes me really sad..
     
  2. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  3. Baris

    Baris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I fallowed the links and found that it is a problem with CentOS 4.3 Kernel.I have to downgrade Kernel.But i even dont know what kernel is.Where can i find howto documents about this?

    Btw,thanks a lot jester.ro
     
  4. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    login to a shell on your server, and type

    uname -a

    the output should be something like

    Linux your.host.name 2.6.9-37.ELsmp #1 SMP Fri May 19 18:07:42 EDT 2006 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    the "2.6.9-37.ELsmp" is the current kernel on your server.
    That's what i have now.

    You probably have 22 or 34, instead of my 37.


    If so, while logged into your server,

    wget http://people.redhat.com/~jbaron/rhel4/RPMS.kernel/kernel-smp-2.6.9-39.1.EL.i686.rpm

    after the download,

    rpm -ivh kernel-smp-2.6.9-39.1.EL.i686.rpm

    Check to see if the new kernel is installed by default in grub.conf

    cat /boot/grub/grub.conf

    Default should be 0
    And the kernel you've just installed should be the first one

    title CentOS (2.6.9-39.ELsmp)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-39.ELsmp ro root=/dev/sda6
    initrd /initrd-2.6.9-39.ELsmp.img

    After that, wait until your server is not that busy(night time) and reboot the server.

    After it comes back online, check what kernel is using (uname -a)

    Should read the new kernel.
     
  5. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The usual disclaimer should be applied to what i wrote above. It worked for me, and should be ok for you too, but if it isn't, make sure you can have the datacenter folks reboot the server and boot with the previous kernel.
     
  6. Baris

    Baris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks a lot jester.ro

    I am trying now.I will share the result..
     
  7. Baris

    Baris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It is ok..

    My kernel version is 2.6.9-39.1.ELsmp now.

    I will watch the load and share the result.The load is low now.I hope it goes like this..Thanks a lot again jester.ro
     
  8. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Glad i could help.

    Also I thank Echelon17, he found this issue first :)
     
  9. tazman2000

    tazman2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the same problem, my results when I do the above is;

    2.4.21-40.EL #1 Wed Mar 15 14:30:04 EST 2006 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    Means nothing to me :eek:

    My server load is always 2+ first thing in the morning, sometimes reaching 4+ :rolleyes:
     
  10. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This kind of load could just be becuase of an overloaded server.

    What are your servers specs and also check to see what program is using alot of CPU
     
  11. satishlive

    satishlive Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem too

    I have the same problem because some tims the mysql is get closed and sometimes the ftp gets closed.

    uname -a shows the following think.

    Linux servers.gc-servers.info 2.6.8-022stab067.1-smp #1 SMP Mon Jan 23 20:46:56 MSK 2006 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    Is there something i can do ?

    Satish
     
  12. tazman2000

    tazman2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My server details are;
    Processor #1 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #1 Name: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.20GHz
    Processor #1 speed: 2199.795 MHz
    Processor #1 cache size: 128 KB
    1GB Memory


    Server process always shows;
    /usr/bin/perl /scripts/realperlinstaller Time::HiRes Net::AIM Net::SSLeay Archive::Tar GD::Graph Tree::MultiNode Tie::IxHash HTML::Entities IO::Tty Bundle::DBD::mysql CGI MD5 Digest::MD5 Expect Mail::SpamAssassin Net::DNS Bundle::Interchange Geo::IPfree Digest::SHA1 Sys::Hostname::Long
    at around 79%
     
  13. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's probably the old old problem with CPAN.pm. Kill off the realperlinstaller processes, upgrade to the latest cPanel release for the tree you use, make sure perl is v5.8.7 and if not upgrade using the package on layer1.cpanel.net
     
  14. tazman2000

    tazman2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  15. tazman2000

    tazman2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well updated to WHM 10.8/Cpanel 10.8.2 ......and now the server load is worse than ever......9.87 when I got up this morning, it used to only ever reach 4 on the older version :eek:

    The load seems to be coming from GZIP now!! :rolleyes: Any ideas?
     
  16. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    gzip is probably your backups running. Login and have a look at the output of ps:

    ps axf
     
Loading...

Share This Page