The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server Load over 1.00

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by powerflash, Nov 12, 2004.

  1. powerflash

    powerflash Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    in Service Status if "Server Load" is over 1.00 (1 cpu) the icon is red, but this what means?, is a dangerous problem?

    Thanks
    Alex
     
  2. Aric1

    Aric1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Not unless you are using a Pentium 1 with 128 MB of RAM as your server. :)

    Go into WHM, click Tweak Settings and look for the STATUS section: "The load average that will cause the server status to appear red" and change the # to something higher.
     
  3. powerflash

    powerflash Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a Pentium 4 1,7Ghz with 512 MByte RAM , what is the right number this server?

    Thanks
    Alex
     
  4. Aric1

    Aric1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    As a guess... perhaps 5, but you'll want to monitor your server to see if it really feels critically slow when the load is 5 and adjust accordingly.
     
  5. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i think it depends on kernel version.

    same server with load 5 on kernel 2.6.x will perform much better tan one with kernel 2.4.x . Just becose load is calculated different on 2.6 and 2.4

    anyway, it depends how monitored is that server.

    that is just an indicator, but may prove bad for image if you lcients see the red pulsating dot :).

    so... if you have someone monitoring the server, i would go with a higher number, like 8 (fro kernel 2.6) to make sure no one sees your shame :))
    , and 4 for 2.4 kernels.


    i have set 5 for a prescott 2.4 ghz 1 MB cache 1 gb ram + raid 5 IDE, fedora 1 (kernel 2.4). But it's closely monitored.
     
Loading...

Share This Page