The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server Load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Vatu, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. Vatu

    Vatu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Am the new Bie here, and new to Dedicated Server also. I have a dedicated server with theplanet with Cpanel feature.

    Yesterday my site goes down 2 - 3 times. Thplanet support told me:-

    "I would suggest some optimization on the server to combat with the high load in the areas of mail and apache issues."

    So kindly let me know whats the command to check the server load via putty and how can i optimize it.

    Need your help guys
     
    #1 Vatu, Mar 31, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    To check the server load, if you're using the latest version of the cPanel/WHM, login to the WHM and you should see Load Averages in the upper right corner; or find Server Status >> Service Status
     
  3. Vatu

    Vatu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Here is the Service Status, now kindly let me know how to optimize it;

     
  4. Vatu

    Vatu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Help me frnds. How to optimize the server load
     
  5. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Optimizing your system is a long, complicated process. If you do not know how to investigate loads, disk usage, memory usage, etc, then you should find someone here who can offer you this service and pay them to do it. Its not something that is easily explained, but if you already understand enough about your O/S and how these applications work then you should be able to watch the system for a while and see what is using resources, but if not then get someone who can do it for you.
     
  6. Vatu

    Vatu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    here is the sreenshot of my server status

    Kindly let me know how to optimize and what tool to use to optimize

    [​IMG]
     
  7. ChrisRHS

    ChrisRHS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    There is no single tool that will just magically fix your problem. You need to find out what's eating up your resources, and start tweaking config settings for your hardware. Run the top command, if you have hi wait time, then your are most likely waiting for your disks. If you find httpd at the top of the list, then you are going to need to start tweaking your httpd configuration file, changing setting like Timeout and MPM/Worker. If you use mysql, there are a number of tweaks that can be done to help lower the load as well. I suggest you do some more research.
     
  8. Vatu

    Vatu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have done some changes, but after that my site goes down again n again

    Here are the Changes

    I have made the below changes to mysql to help improve performance
    query_cache_size = 32M
    tmp_table_size = 128M
    max_heap_table_size = 32M
    thread_cache_size = 4
    table_cache = 256
    log-slow-queries = /var/log/mysql-slow.log
    max_connections = 250

    also reduced the KeepAlive for apache to 3seconds and put the MaxClients value to 250.
     
  9. Serra

    Serra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    What lead you to believe it was a mysql issue? Your server is overloaded, it's that simple. Look at what is causing the load. That is where you need to start.

    In WHM look at CPU/Memory/MySQL Usage and see what is causing the load.
     
  10. big_bull

    big_bull Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    check mysql processes by

    mysqladmin pr

    check which database using mysql resources and suspend it.
     
  11. koolcards

    koolcards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    You can log in via putty and type in "top". That will continue to refresh while you watch the server load until you ctrl-C out of it.

    Watch for spamd, httpd, and mysql processes.

    If it's spamd, make sure your accounts are set to "Fail" and return mail rather than "blackhole" due tto the difference in the amount of CPU each takes.

    There are several threads in these forums that deal with each service should they be consuming too much memory/CPU (your memory usage looks high to me but I cringe when it's over 20%)
     
  12. UBERHOST

    UBERHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California, US
    You should seriously consider paying a server management company to optimize your server. AdminGeekz is well-regarded on the WHT forums, for example.
     
  13. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You can see the processes running on your server using top -c command. Also, check for the MySQL processes from the WHM.
     
  14. Vatu

    Vatu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I Spoke to theplanet Proffesional Service and tell them to optimize the Server. After Optimizing they told me that you are out of RAM. So Upgrade it from 1 Gb to 2 Gb.


    Now am Upgrading the RAM. Hope this will help.


    And am also getting this error in mial box

    Drive Warning: /dev/hda3 (/usr) is 81% full
     
  15. Vatu

    Vatu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Now am gettitng thi erorr daily

    Drive Warning: /dev/hda3 (/usr) is 81% full

    And daily i have to remove log from domlogs


    is there any permanent solution to get rid from this error
     
Loading...

Share This Page